Little French Fudge Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We made this recipe the other day, and I was slightly disappointed. About half of the batch was cooked perfectly and the other half was burnt. For the perfectly cooked ones, they were delicious and extremely chocolatey. They tasted great with homemade whipped cream on top as well. Would make it again, just be sure to keep a close eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
2nd step was misleading. the butter melted long before and the chocolate melted long before also... otherwise this was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huron, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made them with Hersey chocolate chips in them I made them for a school project A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I am very confused about the amount of chocolate in this recipe. Can anyone help? The proportions are 1 (4 oz) bar of bittersweet choc 1.5 (1 oz) squares of unsweetened .5 (4 oz) bar of bittersweet choc So, how much chocolate. I think First there is 4 oz chopped up. Then there is 1 oz or 1.5 squares. Or is it 1.5 1 oz squares for 1.5 oz total. Then .5 of a 4 oz bar or 2 oz. total? I'm going to go with 4+1.5+2 = 7.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
These were so rich and so good. I assumed they would be similar to a Ghirardelli brownie in cupcake form, but somehow they were richer and denser (in a good way)! I did eat one right after baking and I can honestly say that I liked them better when they were completely cooled and solidified the next day. I put a thin layer of dark chocolate buttercream on them and this only enhanced the experience. The one change I would make is to leave the cinnamon out completely. I even halved it when I made mine and I still did not like the spice in combination with the chocolate. Also, for the non-melted bittersweet chocolate chunks I just used a half cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips I had on hand. They worked fine, not need to go out and buy 2 expensive chocolate bars. Just one good bittersweet chocolate bar for the melted portion of the recipe will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made these for my husband's birthday- they were easy and so so good. I used cupcake liners sprayed with nonstick spray and filled the cups almost full; they turned out beautifully rounded, dense and fudge-like as described by the author. Just what he'd hoped for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
So good. SO GOOD. More intensely chocolate than any chocolate cake I've ever made, and remarkably fluffy. The chopped pieces of chocolate mixed into the batter make these little molten pools when the cakes are eaten warm. They're good after cool, but will blow your mind when hot out of the oven. Two comments - no way this quantity of batter fits into a regular 6 muffin tin - probably intended for the extra big muffin tin? Otherwise makes 8-9. Also, greasing the tins with butter was not sufficient to keep the cakes from sticking and coming apart a little. I'll probably grease AND flour next time. And there will most definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were amazing! They reminded me of brownies but much better!!! My boyfriend and friends were very impressed with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made these as my final foods class project. They came out perfectly! I was glad that they tasted dark and rich as opposed to super fluffy and light like a cupcake. As another review said, there was a lot of extra batter. I had my servings set for twelve, and I got a good 18 little cakes out it (people didn't mind the extras!) I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AyyOKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States