Lit'l Smokies® Mummy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had my reservations about my ability to make these, they look like they take alot of time and patience. But they were so very easy and fun to make, and the ones that did not look perfect had a little character! I made some with little hats, and some without. I made these as a test for my annual Halloween party and I will absolutely serve them this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made these for my family last Halloween, and they were a hit! So easy to make and very filling. They are best with plain yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made these last year for halloween. They were a lot of work for something so small but they make a nice impact on your table. I took this general idea and make something similar with regular hot dogs year round. I take small biscuit dough and smoosh them down and wrap each hot dog with 1.5 biscuits. Then I just bake them according to the biscuit instructions. We call them biscuit dogs, and we love them. I started using biscuit dough instead of crescent rolls because they are less fat. My dss likes them better, go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love holiday treats that aren't full of sugar!! Every fun recipe for kids seems to be cookies or candy. We made these in our toaster oven in minutes. I homeschool my kids and we are learning about Egypt right now. Making these edible mummies was a very enjoyable project.. Coincidentally it being so close to Halloween this was a perfect recipe for my kids to do! They are bite size and my boys just loved them. Great recipe for little hands, with no real worry of working with raw ingredients such as eggs or meat. Being that small children loooove to put everything in their mouths. In fact my boys want to make them again on Halloween, using regular sized hot dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These are excellent! I used beef smokies and served warm with a side of grape jelly. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I could not believe how fast these were devoured. Fast and easy, and the kids had fun making them with me! I've already given this recipe away to friends :D Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Made these for my halloween party and had none left. I rolled the entire sausage with the dough, pinched both ends to seal and then cut across the front to make space for a face. Stayed together perfectly. Will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Yummy Mummy! So fun to serve these at a Halloween party for a bunch of college kids ~ they went very quickly. It took quite some time to wrap the crescent dough strips around them, but the wow factor was worth it. Serve with a bowl of mustard &/or ketchup. I strongly recommend using the beef Lit'l Smokies®, because they have a good & smokey flavor. I do not recommend the pork-chicken Lit'l Smokies®, because those taste exactly like hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a really cute idea that was easy to make up for a Halloween supper! Just a note -- make sure the hot dogs have cooled some before putting the "face" on with condiments...otherwise it won't stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
these were very easy, my kids helped make them. Taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States