Lithuanian Kugelis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I'm a Lithuanian and tried to make Kugelis myself following this recipe. There were few things I have done differently to make it as closet to what I have eaten in my home country. First of all in Lithuania we do not use Russet potatoes. I actually hardy ever use this sort of potatoes at all - too dry. My favourites are, and this what I used in this recipe, "Yukon yellow". You most definitely have to use the smallest grader available. It has to be a "mash" out of row potatoes. Take a cheese cloth and squeeze out juice. Leave juice stand for a while for starch to build on the bottom. You will have to remove juice and put the starch back into potato mash. I used 5 pound of potatoes and 6 eggs. However after I fried onions and bacon, I only added about 1/3 into the potatoes mash and did not use any additional butter. Fat from bacon is more then enough for this dish. Also I did only use about 1/4 cup of evaporated milk. Just a note, next time I will use regular milk or cream. Can not remember even seeing evaporated milk in the stores in Lithuania, only the sugary type. Bake for a hour. Serve with sour cream and the left over bacon and onions mix. Gero apetito!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made sure to drain-out the water from the shredded potatoes. The kugelis came out delicious -- good enough for my Lithuanian father-in-law to comment how great it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Everyone in my family has made this many times and I have been eating and making all the variations for 30 years now. Some things to note are that you need to finely shred the potatoes (like mashed raw, not like cheese); use salted butter at your own risk, but add salt and pepper to the mix to taste; use nice cheap fatty bacon, stick it in the freezer for a bit to make it easy to dice raw; coming from my Lithuanian family, a bit more bacon never hurt (I use and extra 1/2 lb); and, finally, serve with real sour cream (not light or fat free, this is a Lithuanian recipe!). All in all, this is a recipe you have to perfect on your own, but is well worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! Being Lithuanian myself. I really LOVE these Ethnic Reciipes. Excellent for Parties - Makes a Lasting Impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is a family tradition (yes, Lithuanian!) However we use chopped bacon & diced ham. We just chop everything up in the food processor, shred the potato, transfer all into a large bowl, add eggs & evaporated milk, transfer to a baking dish (coated with Pam for easy clean-up!) and bake at 350 for about an hour. The flavor is AMAZING!!! We also serve with a dollop of sour cream. Just as a note - you can freeze leftover ham (from holidays) and leftover bacon and thaw them out when you're ready to make the Kugeli! :) No need to have anything pre-cooked except the bacon, just to get rid of the excess grease. I disagree with the review who said the potatoes have to be thinly shredded - we just use a standard shred, my grandmother used to use an old fashioned grater and it comes out PERFECT!!! :) Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Time consuming but worth the effort. I liked that you did not have to squeeze the juice out of the potatoes. We made this for an ethnic day at my childs school, every one enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I hate rating this recipe so low. I made this tonight exactly as listed, and although the dish came out of the oven looking beautiful, it was very bland. I realized after the fact that there was no salt or pepper in the recipe, and even though I added salt on my plate, and tried it with a dollop of sour cream, it still wasn't enough. I'll try to salvage the leftovers with some cheese, but I don't imagine I can do much more. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Major flaw: where's the salt? You'll need about 1 T per kg, less if your bacon is on the salty side. I grate one raw onion in with the potatoes, and use extra bacon or other smoked meats (try smoked chicken thighs!). I always strain the potato mush and pour off the liquid, retaining the starch, but you don't have to. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I also used Yukon Gold potatoes, they didn't seem to brown after peeling. I halved the recipe but only used 4 slices of thick cut bacon for 2 lbs of potatoes, this was sufficient but bacon lovers could use more. I only used 2 T. of butter but think it would work without it. I don't know how anyone got 5lbs of potatoes in a 9x13 dish, my 2 pounds filled mine to the top and I only used 3 eggs and 6 oz of evaporated milk. Unless you have a very large family I think my version would work well for most. Excellent recipe no need to squeeze the potatoes, make it easy on yourself. Also don't forget to add SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guam Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Thanks Marinka.p my great grand-mother was Lithuanian and passed this Kugelis recipe down to us. Although, I am the last in the family to still use it, the others think it is unhealthy. But she did live to a good age of 89. With my recipe, Yukon Gold (I think yellow is the same thing. Although, I shredded the 5lbs of potatoes, then in a large bowl mixed in the 2 large white onions (diced), bacon, and milk. I didn't see the use of adding butter with the bacon. One thing I was taught differently was to save the bacon grease and about 1/2 though the baking, pour 1/2 of the grease over the dish and the other 1/2 about 3/4 into the cooking time. (1/2 hour and 45 minute marks). I served with Kielbasa with Peppers and Onions slow cooked in oil and side of sour cream. The other 1/2 of me is Irish and we love potatoes, so it is a great dish to introduce to your Irish friends as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States