Lithuanian Kugelis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
As someone who is of Lithuanian background, and even living in Lithuania, the first question is should the bacon be cold or hot smoked? Actually, it would be much better, and authentic, to use what is called "salt pork" in the US... hardly any "meat"in it at all. Also, most American-Lithuanians I knew in the US use a "safety grater", which looks like a metal tennis racket to grate the potatoes... the flaky shreds add a depth that simply shredding will never accomplice. Sadly, here in Lithuania, most people who make this regularly use a machine to grind the potatoes down... this absolutely sucks, as it makes this strange, almost rubbery loaf. Depending on how long you cook it, and how you want it too look, you can always use regular milk. Some "traditional" recipes call for burying a pig's ear or a piece of chicken in the loaf before you cook it, but then again, what's so traditionally Lithuanian about potatoes, which didn't even show up in Lithuania until the later 17th Century? And why call it "Kugelis", when people in Lithuania, up until the early 20th C. called it "Babka"? Thanks, Jablonskis...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I am Lithuanian, both my grandparents came from Lithuania and my grandmother would make this for every Thanksgiving and Christmas since I was a little girl. It was something I very much looked forward too, but every time I asked for the recipe she said she didn't have one and did a little something different every time. Now that she is almost 90, I wanted to make this for her for Christmas. I don't really follow recipes to the exact (that's just how I cook) so I probably used more bacon and more butter than the recipe called for, but it was excellent and everyone loved it!!!! The only thing I noticed different from my grandmothers version is I used a food processor to shred the potatoes and that gave them a different consistency in the finished product than when she would hand shred them (to a mush like consistency). Also, I did make sure to squeeze out the excess water as many other's have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe BUT as others have posted it needs some seasoning. I added a teaspoon salt. I also drained some water off (not all) and added 1/2 cup flour. That is how my Lithuanian grandmother made it. Also if you don't have evaporated milk you can use 2percent milk. Most people would never know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
absolutely perfect, all the Lithuanians here loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this last christmas and didn't think it was going to go over well. It did and I was being asked for the recipe all night. I wish I didn't keep forgetting to drain the potatoes but comes out fine anyway. I typically add spices like Ginger, Cumin, Celery salt and Chile pepper. It's great to be Lituanian and not afraid to eat heart stopping foods like this.....once a year at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmyj1960

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I also used Yukon Gold potatoes, they didn't seem to brown after peeling. I halved the recipe but only used 4 slices of thick cut bacon for 2 lbs of potatoes, this was sufficient but bacon lovers could use more. I only used 2 T. of butter but think it would work without it. I don't know how anyone got 5lbs of potatoes in a 9x13 dish, my 2 pounds filled mine to the top and I only used 3 eggs and 6 oz of evaporated milk. Unless you have a very large family I think my version would work well for most. Excellent recipe no need to squeeze the potatoes, make it easy on yourself. Also don't forget to add SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guam Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Thanks Marinka.p my great grand-mother was Lithuanian and passed this Kugelis recipe down to us. Although, I am the last in the family to still use it, the others think it is unhealthy. But she did live to a good age of 89. With my recipe, Yukon Gold (I think yellow is the same thing. Although, I shredded the 5lbs of potatoes, then in a large bowl mixed in the 2 large white onions (diced), bacon, and milk. I didn't see the use of adding butter with the bacon. One thing I was taught differently was to save the bacon grease and about 1/2 though the baking, pour 1/2 of the grease over the dish and the other 1/2 about 3/4 into the cooking time. (1/2 hour and 45 minute marks). I served with Kielbasa with Peppers and Onions slow cooked in oil and side of sour cream. The other 1/2 of me is Irish and we love potatoes, so it is a great dish to introduce to your Irish friends as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Major flaw: where's the salt? You'll need about 1 T per kg, less if your bacon is on the salty side. I grate one raw onion in with the potatoes, and use extra bacon or other smoked meats (try smoked chicken thighs!). I always strain the potato mush and pour off the liquid, retaining the starch, but you don't have to. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I'm a Lithuanian and tried to make Kugelis myself following this recipe. There were few things I have done differently to make it as closet to what I have eaten in my home country. First of all in Lithuania we do not use Russet potatoes. I actually hardy ever use this sort of potatoes at all - too dry. My favourites are, and this what I used in this recipe, "Yukon yellow". You most definitely have to use the smallest grader available. It has to be a "mash" out of row potatoes. Take a cheese cloth and squeeze out juice. Leave juice stand for a while for starch to build on the bottom. You will have to remove juice and put the starch back into potato mash. I used 5 pound of potatoes and 6 eggs. However after I fried onions and bacon, I only added about 1/3 into the potatoes mash and did not use any additional butter. Fat from bacon is more then enough for this dish. Also I did only use about 1/4 cup of evaporated milk. Just a note, next time I will use regular milk or cream. Can not remember even seeing evaporated milk in the stores in Lithuania, only the sugary type. Bake for a hour. Serve with sour cream and the left over bacon and onions mix. Gero apetito!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is a family tradition (yes, Lithuanian!) However we use chopped bacon & diced ham. We just chop everything up in the food processor, shred the potato, transfer all into a large bowl, add eggs & evaporated milk, transfer to a baking dish (coated with Pam for easy clean-up!) and bake at 350 for about an hour. The flavor is AMAZING!!! We also serve with a dollop of sour cream. Just as a note - you can freeze leftover ham (from holidays) and leftover bacon and thaw them out when you're ready to make the Kugeli! :) No need to have anything pre-cooked except the bacon, just to get rid of the excess grease. I disagree with the review who said the potatoes have to be thinly shredded - we just use a standard shred, my grandmother used to use an old fashioned grater and it comes out PERFECT!!! :) Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States