Lithuanian Kugela Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made this for our International Dining Group. Everyone loved it. Here are the changes I made: No flour, grate raw Yukon Gold potatoes and then soak for a few minutes and strain, let liquid sit, drain off liquid and return starch that has settled to the potatoes. Freeze bacon and dice, cook with onions until brown, carmelized. Used only 5 eggs. Must serve with sour cream. I think I will add more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Im English and my Husband is Lithuanian... He loved it! He said it was the he'd tasted in a long time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
very nice! I think more onions fried 'til they are a bit brown would be even better. i think serving the next nite after panfrying a slab in butter would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I use a food processor and being lazy half the time I decided to try it with leaving the skin on...give it a try...tastes fantastic! This is the same as the recipe I grew up with and is great! Sour cream optional???? Ahhhh HAHAHAHA...that's a good one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe is almost exact to the one my grandmother gave me, every year we make it for the holidays because everyone loves it. I even got my other side of the family (polish) to enjoy this dish. However i do omit the flour, i dont find it necessary, and i only use 3 eggs. otherwise it is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this a few years ago for a pot luck picnic my step mom gave me the recipe and beleave it or not i never got any it was all gone a big hit. Been looking for the recipe for a while because i had lost the one my step mom gave me during a move. I have it again and now with my new husband and his family they get to try my family tradition for a holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugs682006

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rankin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Ahh, the ultimate comfort food! My friend's family added buttered bread crumbs - and of course, the sour cream was mandatory, not optional . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Everything is about the same as my recipe except for a few things. I don't soak the potatoes and I Cook it for about 2 and 1/2 hours. This makes for a hard crispy crust on the bottom which most people love. I also cook the bacon and onion together after the bacon is slightly cooked. I could not find the recipe I had and this was the closest to the one I had. I also use slightly less flour. Thirty five Years ago my mother gave me a food processor and this is the only recipe i use it for. You have to cut potatoes into pieces and turn processor on and off till you get a grated like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Flour? No way! Only the starch from the potatoes is necessary. By the way, I am 100% Lithuanian and grew up on this stuff and it's called Kugelis. The Lithuanian language gives gender to the noun. Kugelis is a masculine word, ending it with an "a" would change it to a feminine word and therefore it is incorrect. But thanks for sharing the recipe..it's a pretty good one. For anyone who thought it was bland..yeah it's supposed to be that way, all Lithuanian food is bland and there is never ever any kind of cheese or garlic salt in Kugelis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazing and Thankyou so much. I only have a faint memory of this dish made by my great grandmother. Made for my grandfather a few weeks ago and he loved it. Make to sure to finely shred the potatoes so they cook well. Draining and pressing the soaked potatoes to collect the starch is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clreich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Carstairs, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States