Lithuanian Krupnikas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Gave as gifts. It was a hit! Based on other suggestions, I brought honey & water to simmer. Added all spices and simmered (uncovered) for 30 minutes. Removed from stove top & added alcohol (used 750 ml). Stir. Strain. Bottle. Wait 2 weeks. Enjoy! Use as many of the spices as you can find. Find in international markets, internet, or local brewery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan Blevins
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wife and I are in the kitchen today. When we have to decompress and such we cook or experiment with different recipe s. This day I made this not just for myself but for everyone! It us easy and fun just have your ingredients ready , turn on the radio and go!!! You will enjoy this I had a small taste before letting it sit for 2 weeks (lol) all I can say is Super!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Blevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
It was a beautiful spring day and I decided to make this wonderful krupnikas recipe. I opened the kitchen windows wide. After straining the 'spice water' and while waiting for the honey to boil, I turned my back to the pot to do some general cleaning and tidying. When I turned to face the pot again lo & behold, several large bees were buzzing around the top of the pot. I turned towards the window and saw tens of bees exiting the garden bushes and flying towards my kitchen! I quickly shut the window and took care of the others with organic orange room deodorant spray. My message to you is this: Don't make this recipe on a spring day with the windows open! Other than that I must say that this is a marvelous recipe. Everyone who tasted it enjoyed it immensely. I have one one question, though. No matter how long I've aged it I get a clear liquid on top and thick goopy one at the bottom of the bottle. Even after straining again through coffee filters (the very definition of eternity) to re-bottle in gift bottles months later I get a two-toned result. How to I get the mythic clear liquid everyone talks about?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but just wanted to know if you can make it without boiling the honey, just adding it directly to the mixture as it is my understanding that heating honey ruins any of the medicinal qualities that honey has. Has anyone tried making it without boiling the honey or think it would work out okay to just add it without heating? PS, I'm just rating this as how desirable it sounds so I can post my question. Thanks for any input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I screwed up a bit and used too much honey relative to the alcohol and spiced water, too sweet but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
It's simply delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Having made my own Krupnikas for the last 30 years, there are a few things I'd like to say. First and foremost NEVER heat this drink in a microwave! You're using grain alcohol, for cryin' out loud! There are many Krupnikas recipes out there. This seems like a good one...similar to mine with the exception of a few spices that I leave out and a few others I put in. (For example, I use vanilla bean vs vanilla extract and I put it in the pot with the other spices.) Also, I never drink it warm...cool is best...but my Krupnikas is a full 80 proof. It's the real deal, made for shots. The basics are there, though...so if you're making this for the first time, don't sweat it if you're missing an ingredient or 2. Most can be found on line at good spice websites like Penzeys. To a previous comment: Everclear IS grain alcohol...whatever brand you have works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have made this the last two Christmases as gifts. Problem is, we have trouble making enough to have any left by the time the holidays roll around. I actually have started to save a few "vintage" bottles and my '08 bottles are great. Truly gets better with age. Everyone who I've ever served it to liked it, two things everyone disagrees about: 1) if it's better to drink hot or cold (definitely hot for medicinal purposes!) and 2) whether to shake up the sediment or to leave it the beautiful golden color. Everyone seems divided about both! There are a couple of ingredients I have never been able to find - but others have suggested substitutions that seem to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this is the same recipe i have! i just leave out any spices that i cannot find. try to find everclear-- it is much tastier than grain alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as stated - and it is amazing! It was pretty potent when it first went into the bottles, but after just 3 months, it mellowed into an incredible, smooth, sweet and spicy sipping drink. Every time I give someone a sample, they ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States