Lithuanian Krupnikas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this is the same recipe i have! i just leave out any spices that i cannot find. try to find everclear-- it is much tastier than grain alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
It's simply delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
couldn't get our hands on fresh turmeric root, so used 1,5 tsp dried instead as per a previous review. this made it a little bit difficult to strain, but patience paid off, and we've finally sampled it after having it stand for about 2 months. fantastic. we've had some at room temperature and we're totally blown away. interested to know what it's like when heated, but not expecting a bad result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have made this the last two Christmases as gifts. Problem is, we have trouble making enough to have any left by the time the holidays roll around. I actually have started to save a few "vintage" bottles and my '08 bottles are great. Truly gets better with age. Everyone who I've ever served it to liked it, two things everyone disagrees about: 1) if it's better to drink hot or cold (definitely hot for medicinal purposes!) and 2) whether to shake up the sediment or to leave it the beautiful golden color. Everyone seems divided about both! There are a couple of ingredients I have never been able to find - but others have suggested substitutions that seem to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
So... haven't had a chance to try the recipe yet but, very excited about finding it!! Just as an FYI.... makes a fantastic addition to Christmas Eggnog... not the traditional Lithuanian use but, really yummy nonetheless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as stated - and it is amazing! It was pretty potent when it first went into the bottles, but after just 3 months, it mellowed into an incredible, smooth, sweet and spicy sipping drink. Every time I give someone a sample, they ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Every year my wife and I make holiday gift to give to family and friends. This year we chose to make Krupnikas. Boy, oh boy! Absolutely wonderful! Everyone's asked me for the recipe. My sister-in-law finished her bottle off in less then a week! Have a second batch aging as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I haven't made this recipe yet, but I was so excited to see something that I have only had as a child and no longer had a recipe for. I remember my mom saying it definately would cure anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Takes awhile to make, but well worth the wait! After the 2 week wait you will not be disappointed! I now make it every winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Krupnikas is heaven in a glass! It appeals to everyone I've ever given it to, makes great coffee sweetener (if you're staying home :D), and is just generally awesome. Thanks for sharing your family version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States