Lithuanian Krupnikas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I haven't made this recipe yet, but I was so excited to see something that I have only had as a child and no longer had a recipe for. I remember my mom saying it definately would cure anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Takes awhile to make, but well worth the wait! After the 2 week wait you will not be disappointed! I now make it every winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Krupnikas is heaven in a glass! It appeals to everyone I've ever given it to, makes great coffee sweetener (if you're staying home :D), and is just generally awesome. Thanks for sharing your family version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
So... haven't had a chance to try the recipe yet but, very excited about finding it!! Just as an FYI.... makes a fantastic addition to Christmas Eggnog... not the traditional Lithuanian use but, really yummy nonetheless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alfia
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I just got the krupnikas in bottles and it really smells delicious. I couldn't find whole yellow ginger (turmeric) so I used 1.5 tsp of powdered. Grain alcohol is illegal where I live so I used 1.5 quarts of vodka. This yielded almost 2 quarts of krupnikas with the water and honey. Even after settling overnight it has a luscious taste, but it is quite cloudy. I plan to let it sit 3 weeks and have a little on Christmas and then keep the rest for at least a year to mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Every year my wife and I make holiday gift to give to family and friends. This year we chose to make Krupnikas. Boy, oh boy! Absolutely wonderful! Everyone's asked me for the recipe. My sister-in-law finished her bottle off in less then a week! Have a second batch aging as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
couldn't get our hands on fresh turmeric root, so used 1,5 tsp dried instead as per a previous review. this made it a little bit difficult to strain, but patience paid off, and we've finally sampled it after having it stand for about 2 months. fantastic. we've had some at room temperature and we're totally blown away. interested to know what it's like when heated, but not expecting a bad result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as stated - and it is amazing! It was pretty potent when it first went into the bottles, but after just 3 months, it mellowed into an incredible, smooth, sweet and spicy sipping drink. Every time I give someone a sample, they ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this is the same recipe i have! i just leave out any spices that i cannot find. try to find everclear-- it is much tastier than grain alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have made this the last two Christmases as gifts. Problem is, we have trouble making enough to have any left by the time the holidays roll around. I actually have started to save a few "vintage" bottles and my '08 bottles are great. Truly gets better with age. Everyone who I've ever served it to liked it, two things everyone disagrees about: 1) if it's better to drink hot or cold (definitely hot for medicinal purposes!) and 2) whether to shake up the sediment or to leave it the beautiful golden color. Everyone seems divided about both! There are a couple of ingredients I have never been able to find - but others have suggested substitutions that seem to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States