Lite Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is very easy and VERY good. I didn't add the corn oil because I didn't have it on hand. I will add half as much oil next time, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I replaced corn oil with canola oil and used more pepper and oregano. I substituted a very small amount of Extra Spicy Mrs. Dash for the salt. Will use this in a chicken dish with honey and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
WOW! This is fantastic. Light and tasty; perfect on my pasta salad (cooked whole grain rotini, grape tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, fresh grated parmesan, etc.). I made two batches and reduced the amount of vinegar in the second batch (it was a tad tangy for me). I also added a few shakes of grated parmesan... YUM! So grateful to Lillian for sharing her recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I halved this recipe; did not use the corn oil and subbed italian seasoning instead of oregano. Was having a simple baby spinach salad with hard boiled eggs, red onion and swiss cheese chunks for dinner tonight and needed a light dressing for it. This hit the spot!! So easy and quick to put together; best of all it tasted great. Thanks for sharing, Lillian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My first homemade Italian dressing and I found the one. This is a very nice dressing. I added a few cloves of crushed garlic and some Herbs De Providence though as I thought it needed a little something extra. A great base to make it just what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Needs double the sugar, replaced corn oil with cold pressed grape seed oil, or you could use avocado oil. Also needed way more spices- garlic, basil etc. Really the only good thing about this was she used very healthy apple cider vinegar instead of reg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This recipe saved the day! A Saturday at the shore in the summer is not the time to hit the supermarket. I was caught without any Italian dressing for the pasta salad I was making. When I saw this was Lillian's recipe I knew the day was saved! Thanks Lillian for such a terrific recipe, it's SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just whipped this one up, added a clove of garlic, 2 small sprigs of fresh marjoram and a few fresh basil leaves, chilled it for a couple of hours, mixed some in fresh homemade pasta with chopped tomatoes and green pepper, gave it a little taste test.....oh my!!!! Cant wait til its chilled completely!!! Fantastic! Will NEVER buy bottled dressing again. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
i used olive oil since i didnt have corn oil. this is nothing special its pretty tangy but its really basic. it worked fine on a simple pasta salad with tomatoes and cheese. if i make it again i would cut the vinegar some but not up the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Basic dressing. I did not use the corn oil only because I did not have any. I ended up using this as a base recipe once I tried it and added more spices and some fresh minced garlic. This would be good for any kind of salad you'd want to make, just add spices to match your meal (ex: basil, red pepper flake for italian dressing or rice wine vinegar, green onion, fresh ginger, sesame seeds for asian dressing......).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States