Lite Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I was going to give this four stars, but then my husband commented how much he loved it, so it went up to five. I do have a couple of notes, though ... the first being that corn oil or canola oil may make a slight difference in flavor, but honestly, one really isn't better than another. Yes, you can bump this up to do what you need it to - add garlic, additional herbs, etc., but this is IMPORTANT: do NOT leave it on the counter, as one poster has mentioned. While the oils and vinegar are fine, the herbs will spoil if this is not kept in the fridge. You still shouldn't keep it more than two weeks. Yes, if you keep it in the fridge, it will thicken and separate. An easy way around that is to keep this in a mason jar. You don't have to whisk it every time - just shake away. It'll thin out and mix well, and be ready for the next use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I didn't make this. I calculate this recipe to be about 90 calories/tablespoon. What is 'lite' about that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Moran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is a great simple everyday salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe is great!! I added red pepper flakes and Honey. If I don't have Oregano, I will use Basil or Italian spices. And I always pour extra Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent! One of the best I've tried. Lite and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I realized after prepping all my ingredients that we were out of Italian dressing. This recipe saved my salad! We did tweak it a bit. I used only olive oil, we don't use any other vegetable oil. We also used fresh herbs from the garden: sage, thyme, basil, and fresh pressed garlic. I didn't have dried oregano, so subbed a bit of Italian seasoning. The only reason I gave it four stars, was because it was oily (compared to store bought) on the lips and tongue when eating it. This may be because it was a home made dressing, I don't know. I have never made my own before. This dressing went on my quinoa and fresh veggie salad. My friend is gluten and dairy free, and she loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Blaaaah! A total waste of ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
So i just made this for dinner. And i only did 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, about 1/2 cup water, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is very easy and VERY good. I didn't add the corn oil because I didn't have it on hand. I will add half as much oil next time, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I replaced corn oil with canola oil and used more pepper and oregano. I substituted a very small amount of Extra Spicy Mrs. Dash for the salt. Will use this in a chicken dish with honey and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States