Lite Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I halved this recipe; did not use the corn oil and subbed italian seasoning instead of oregano. Was having a simple baby spinach salad with hard boiled eggs, red onion and swiss cheese chunks for dinner tonight and needed a light dressing for it. This hit the spot!! So easy and quick to put together; best of all it tasted great. Thanks for sharing, Lillian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My first homemade Italian dressing and I found the one. This is a very nice dressing. I added a few cloves of crushed garlic and some Herbs De Providence though as I thought it needed a little something extra. A great base to make it just what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Needs double the sugar, replaced corn oil with cold pressed grape seed oil, or you could use avocado oil. Also needed way more spices- garlic, basil etc. Really the only good thing about this was she used very healthy apple cider vinegar instead of reg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This recipe saved the day! A Saturday at the shore in the summer is not the time to hit the supermarket. I was caught without any Italian dressing for the pasta salad I was making. When I saw this was Lillian's recipe I knew the day was saved! Thanks Lillian for such a terrific recipe, it's SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just whipped this one up, added a clove of garlic, 2 small sprigs of fresh marjoram and a few fresh basil leaves, chilled it for a couple of hours, mixed some in fresh homemade pasta with chopped tomatoes and green pepper, gave it a little taste test.....oh my!!!! Cant wait til its chilled completely!!! Fantastic! Will NEVER buy bottled dressing again. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
i used olive oil since i didnt have corn oil. this is nothing special its pretty tangy but its really basic. it worked fine on a simple pasta salad with tomatoes and cheese. if i make it again i would cut the vinegar some but not up the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Basic dressing. I did not use the corn oil only because I did not have any. I ended up using this as a base recipe once I tried it and added more spices and some fresh minced garlic. This would be good for any kind of salad you'd want to make, just add spices to match your meal (ex: basil, red pepper flake for italian dressing or rice wine vinegar, green onion, fresh ginger, sesame seeds for asian dressing......).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Light and refreshing - just as the submitter states! Very easy to put together and tastes great. I didn't have corn oil, so I subbed a little veg. oil and added a bit of dried basil as well. Perfect over mixed greens and fresh tomatoes! Thanks for a great recipe Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made two servings for myself which was the perfect amount. Omitted the corn oil because I don't have it but it was still delicious. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Fantastic! I normally don't rate/review recipes unless I try them as is, and I did have to make one substitution (I didn't have corn oil, so I used canola oil)... but it was so great I had to review it anyway. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BennetDarcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States