Lite Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Added half a cup coconut flakes to the cake mix. Also some fresh lime zest to the frosting. It was yummy, but not mind blowing. It never got finished, and I live with a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
It was too sickeningly sweet for us to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Wonderful Cake. The only adjustments I made were the following: I used lite coconut milk as others suggested to replace the water in the cake mix. I used a Pillsbury sugar free cake mix. Purchased some red mill unsweetened coconut and replaced 1 cup of the sweetened. I also reduced the sugar to just barely over 1/2 cup for the frosting. Made it on Wed and served it on Friday to my diabetic Mother and Grandmother. They loved it, as did my husband and picky children. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Soooo good. Light. Pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wow was I surprised at how good this turned out! My dad is diabetic and usually goes full sugar for his birthday so I decided to make him a cake this year. I used a sugar free golden cake mix and lite coconut milk instead of water. I also used a tofuti sourcream substitute in the frosting so my son could eat it (dairy allergy) It turned out great! It doesnt tast low-cal at all! My 10 yo son said he wants this for his birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My entire family loved it. I made it twice this past year and they are asking for it all the time. I used lite coconut milk to save calories and toasted the coconut for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoustonHope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious. However, there was not enough filling to spread between the layers and have enough to add to the frosting. Next time, I will increase the filling by 50%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I made this cake two days before I planned on serving it and it was just perfect. I made a two layer cake instead of four so i did have frosting left over but I didn't feel like it was missing anything. Most of my guests went back for seconds! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This cake was EXCELLENT! Followed others suggestions and made modifications. With the box cake mix I used the lite coconut milk instead of water; coconut oil instead of vegetable oil (but the coconut oil is semi solid so I was a little worried about how it would blend into the batter - maybe soften slightly in the microwave next time)and used egg whites from a container. For the center layer, used lite coconut flakes that were unsweetened and fairly small (from Sprout's) that was mixed with Splenda Blend and sour cream: the filling was VERY dense and not easily spreadable so ended up sort of dabbing and gently spread across the cake so wouldn't tear it. (Next time would just mix in the lite whip cream to make it more spreadable - also eliminating another step). Refrigerated for one day and it was EXCELLENT! The coconut oil that I was concerned about seemed to blend into the batter and no one ended up with a bite of coconut oil. Everyone enjoyed it and wanted the recipe....but the best thing was one, as a guest is Diabetic, was that this cake had minimal impact to their blood sugar. A winner all around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
When I saw that the primary ingredient for the icing in this recipe was sour cream, I knew it was just a matter of time before I had to try it out! I love any alternative to the thick, overly sweet butter cream (or worse, fondant :P) style icing you often come across-- yick. Anyway, this recipe does not disappoint! The trick though is, don't use store bought, dried out coconut-- freshly grated is the only way to go! I'm the last person to choose to make my own life harder (with fresh) when there's an easier alternative (dried, store bought) but the difference is enormous! It's the huge quantity of coconut oil in the freshly grated stuff that's released overnight (or longer) into the sour cream that gives it that incredible flavour-- the dried stuff just doesn't have nearly enough of it! Trust me on this, you'll never go back. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States