Lite Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great flavor and texture without all the oil and calories. I added raisins and they were delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is great! I did not miss the added fat at all. The texture is perfectly moist, with just enough sweetness. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I subbed with skim milk, otherwise I followed the recipe exact. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
great cake! I added a pinch of ground cloves, a pinch of nutmeg and a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I used 1 cup unbleached. Flour instead of cake flour. Iced with low fat cream cheese recipe from skinnytaste blog. I will NEVER make the traditional recipe carrot cake again - not when this version is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
After the amount of work going into this cake (lets face it, most carrot cakes don't require stiff peaked egg whites), I wasn't sure I was going to keep it. And then I took a bite. It is not as good as full fat carrot cake. It is so much better. I have since tweaked the recipe for my own tastes, but I feel that is imperative with any recipe. For a great, non greasy, basic carrot cake recipe, this is the one I will go to every time from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Delicious and moist! This will be my carrot cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent carrot cake. I used greek yogurt instead of buttermilk and all purpose flour and it work perfectly. It is light and moist and doesn't have that oily texture that you get with most carrot cakes. You can spice it up to your own taste. This is the one I will make from now on. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was nice, heavier than expected, but still really nice. It is better the second day for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
needs something to make it a little more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
OH MY GOD. This was amazing. OK, let me share with you all what I did. I followed the ingredients exactly except: #1 I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk, and #2, I added based on other reviews, 1/2 tsp of allspice, ground cloves, and nutmeg, and increased cinnamon to 2 tsps. All I can say is wow. I also made an alternative form of frosting because I didn't have cream cheese or powdered sugar: 1 c milk, 1/4 c flour stirring constantly over medium high heat as it thickens and boils, then add to creamed 1 c butter 1 c granulated sugar and 2 tsp vanilla. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Probably because of it being a lite recipe it was a bit dry. Family liked it but it was not a wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States