Lisa's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I tweaked the recipe quite a bit and I actually made it into a casserole, but wow, what a casserole! I used a box of wheat elbow macaroni, cut up a cooked chicken breast, threw in some crumbled bacon, and about one cup each cooked broccoli and cauliflower. Used minced garlic and onion instead of the powdered kind. Combined all that in a 9x13 and sprinkled on a little black pepper. Made the sauce in a saucier with margarine, 2 c. milk, 8 oz. each shredded cheddar, mozzarella, and colby jack and poured that on top. Sprinkled some slivered almonds and paprika over the top. So, so delicious! This recipe was an excellent base for some really great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So Dry! I used 1 1/2 lbs of pasta...added extra cheese and sour cream...still too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Based on other reviews, I used 1 lb (1-3/4 C) dry macaroni), 10 oz. shredded Tillamook cheddar & 10 oz. shredded mozzarella, 1 C milk, 1 tsp dry mustard, 1/2 tsp pepper. Placed in a 9x13 pan and dotted with 2 T butter and 3 T bread crumbs. Important to allow to sit for 15 min. after baking to retain its shame when cut. With the amount of fat from the cheeses, I think next time I'll skip the butter on top. Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
It's only "OK" ....maybe because I prefer my mac n cheese CREAMY and thick. So maybe I should try a recipe with heavy cream in it? IDK. I did halve the recipe because I didn't want to make too much of it. It got a little too dry and I think I maybe added too much butter....IDK. It's sorta greasy and dry, and not creamy. =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe, however I found it a little dry. I would probably use 1-1.5 cups of milk (just my preference). Also, by mixing all the cheese in with the macaroni before spreading it in the baking dish makes for a very difficult dish to clean afterwards (cheese bakes to the dish). Next time I think I will just spread the cheese on the top of the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Followed directions. Very stringy. No one liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wow...yum. I will never make mac n cheese from a box again! So easy to throw together and toss in the oven. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This mac and cheese is delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was the best. Used 1 1/2 lbs of elbow and medium shells. Also used a variety of cheeses, mixed in some chicken and Frenchs Fried Onions in the in with 2 cups of milk instead of 1/2. Topped it with parmesean and crushed croutons and baked for 40 min. Added sliced tomatoes for the final 20 min. More milk if you want it creamier. By far the best Ive ever made/had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg410007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I followed step by step of the instructions. The measurements were all wrong. WAY too much pasta, not enough milk and I couldn't even taste the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States