Lisa's Lasagne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I had been searching for quite some time for a recipe like the one I used to use in the 70s. I was in high school and actually threw dinner parties for my friends and my specialty was lasagna - made from a fab recipe I got, I think, off the box of lasagna noodles. After trying several different recipes from this site, this is the WINNER. If it is not the exact same recipe I used 'back then,' it is very close. Very flavorful, cheesy and gets rave reviews every time. None of the other lasagna recipes I tried (and I tried several in advance of a big dinner party I was having) came even close -they were either bland or runny or both. This is the most like a lasagna you would get if you went to a good Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Um, this is actually my recipe. (I've sinced married, hence the name change.) I just wanted to help the people who get a runny sauce. (I hate to think of people going to all this work and then not being able to enjoy the result!) Maybe you had very juicy tomatoes. I would, in that case, add even more tomato paste and simmer the sauce until it is a little on the thick side, but still has some liquid. Hope that helps. Oh, sorry for giving myself 5 stars, but in truth, I really love this recipe and make it often for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
great tasting lasagne...instead of 8 chopped tomatoes, i added a 28oz and 14oz can of diced tomatoes...it worked out nicely, thanks lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is the best vegetarian lasagna recipe I've tried. It takes a while to prepare but it's worth the trouble. I added carrots and mushrooms. I also recommend using fresh herbs and a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This lasagne is a lot of work but it pays off in the end. It is super tasty and you create the ricotta cheese if you are wondering why it is not in the recipe. The flour and milk creates a rue and you add cheese and it curds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Instead of putting it in the oven that day, I recommend putting it in the fridge and cooking it the next day. The result: my family of picky vegetarians said this was the tastiest lasagne they have ever eaten! The work definitely paid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Great recipe! I've made it twice and it was good both times. Initially, I was confused about whether to use 'fresh' lasagne sheets, 'regular old-fashioned' dried lasagne, or 'no cook' dried lasagne. By adjusting the moisture content, both the fresh and the no-cook were successful. However, I'd be curious to know which type Lisa normally uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Yummy, yummy! This was my first attempt at lasagne and it turned out perfect. I'd add a bit more cheese to the cheese sauce but nothing more. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Superb recipe with excellent taste and no yucky after effects. I am not a vegetarian but this is a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Extremly nice, but the vegetable fillign was a little runny, probably a mistake on my part though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States