Lisa's Favorite Carne Asada Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Too much citrus for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good. Authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this recipe with pork loin. Like others, I was overwhelmed by the citrus initially. I cooked a test bit after 2-3 hours of marinating. Citrus was strong then, and other spices fairly mild. I had used 2 chipotle peppers (canned in adobe sauce with most adobo removed) - added 3 more blended with a little of the reserve marinade and added it to the meat. Cooked the following day after 16 hours of marinade time. Ended up adding salt to the meat as it cooked and to the reserve (also added two more chipotle peppers to reserve - total of 7 peppers). Was fabulous! Served in tortillas with mexican blend cheese shreds, fresh sliced onions, bell peppers and red cabbage dressed with reserve marinade. Will do again, with added salt, chipotle peppers and less/no orange juice, more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
With only 6 hours to marinade before dinner, I left it out for the first hour of marinading, placed it in the refrigerator for 4 hrs. more, and finally took it out an hour prior to grilling. The meat was perfectly tender and very flavorful with just 6 hours in the marinade! My lower-carb meal option was to place this atop of a bowl of mixed greens, diced tomatoes, and a bit of guacamole, and dress it with a couple tablespoons of the reserved marinade. It was delicious and filling! Unlike some of the other reviewers, I didn't find the citrus flavors overpowering at all. The only modification I made was increasing the quantity of chopped, canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (I hate to waste an entire can), using 1/4 cup of the peppers and sauce, well chopped. Made a great meal - the kids loved it with yellow rice and black beans on the side - and is delicious enough to serve when entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennBechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Wow!!! I just ate the carne asada that i marinated for 2 days and it was out of this world delicious! I broiled it due to bbq limitations. Also, instead of using the canned chipotle, i highly recommend using chipotle powder. It intensified the flavors even more, and I personally wouldn't waste an entire can of chipotle peppers for a minimal difference in taste. I used orange juice from the supermarket. It tasted very similar to the premarinated ranchera meat that I get from my fav Mexican market. The meat was tender and the flavor was on point. I also used less lemon juice than the recipe calls for. It really doesn't need that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made changes to this recipe and it turned out great. I omitted the orange, lime, chipotle, and paprika. Added a half cup of beer, 1 small onion, and a 1/2 tsp white sugar. Put everything in a blender, seasoned meat with salt and then poured mixture over meat. Marinated in refrigerator for 2 hours. Will marinade longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My family loves carne asada and we loved this recipe! I omitted the chipotle peppers and the oregano because I didn't have them. I added garlic and salt and pepper and will possibly omit the lemon juice next time to lighten the citrus flavor a bit. But, I am so pleased with this recipe. Thanks Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc1342

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Artesia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I have tried many different carne asada recipes and with a few modifications, this is the absolute best (I'm done searching). Modifications: I used 1/2 cup lime juice (instead of 1/3), I omitted the chipotle and instead I added about 3/4 of a large jalapeno pepper, thinly sliced. I think I probably added a little extra garlic too (Just because I always do). For the chili powder I used some from one of those packets you get in the mexican food aisle (as opposed to the jarred stuff - I find it to have a much more complex flavor). I used an immersion blender to mix everything together well and emulsify it. Absolutely phenomenal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Awesome Recipe! I had to use Chipotle Peppers in adobe sauce. I just drained as much adobe sauce off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Marinated skirt steak and chicken overnight. Make sure to reserve a cup of marinade to brush post-cooking! Excellent with chipotle salsa and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States