Lisa's Co-op Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lily
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I love this soup! It is so easy to make with ingredients I usually have in my pantry. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it was too spicy for me. (And I'm korean so I eat a lot of spicy food!) Plus, I wanted my toddler to be able to eat it so I made a few modifications. I use sweet or regular Italian sausage and only add a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes. I usually add some siracha to my bowl right before I eat it because I do enjoy spicy, just don't want the entire pot to be so spicy! I also add a can of drained chopped tomatoes just because I think it adds a nice flavor. Otherwise, the recipe is perfect! I have also switched out the garbanzos with whatever beans I have in my pantry and it's still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good. I used white northern beans instead of garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I agree that it's too much red pepper. Discovered this too late unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm glad I read the comments on the crushed red pepper, I only used about 3/4Tbsp of it instead of the full 2Tbsp, and it worked well with the amount of heat it gave. I didn't use the optional sausage since I didn't have any on hand. Because of this I made 2cups of the 6, beef broth to give a little meaty flavor. The flavor of the broth was excellent, but the kale was overpowering. It may have been my fault though. I didn't have bunches of kale, just a big bag of chopped kale. It may have been too much. I'm glad I tried it but I don't think I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Way too spicy. More than halved the red pepper, but otherwise was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe! I don't eat a lot of meat so adding it at the end for others in the family was a bonus. I added more garlic, skipped the crushed red pepper, and used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. It was great being able to use such a healthy green and have the kids eat it :) I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was looking for something light after the holiday gluttony & this looked perfect! It's yummy! I was cleaning out the fridge so added a few stalks of celery & a few fresh jalapenos (so only did the red pepper flakes to taste). Next time I will use more seasoning as well. Maybe parsley & bay? But it's still a very delicious recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I am new to kale and found this recipe to be easy and very flavorful. After reading other reviews on the crushed red pepper, I only used 1/2 tbsp. I used black-eyed peas and pre-cooked spicy Italian sausage(what I had on hand). I also put everything in the crockpot after cooking down the onions, carrots, garlic and kale then cooked it for about 5 hours on low. Served it over rice and it was wonderful. I wil make again. Thanks Lisa for the new kale recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBNTN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I just made this recipe. I definetly used alot less red pepper flakes! We were out of Italian sausage, so I used breakfast sausage links instead. I also added some spinach and cheese ravioli at the last 10 minutes of cooking. SUPERB!! We are for sure making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Used white cannelli beans, 8 c of fat free low sodium chicken broth and used spicy chipotle chicken sausage.....excellent and hearty. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States