Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This cake is beautiful! Super moist and tasty! My entire family went mad over it, and my dad who doesnt have much of a sweet tooth said, verbatim, "S**t, this is good cake!" and cut himself another huge slice! Will definitely make it over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was sooooo good!!!!!! So moist but with a yummy burst of chocolate! I only used 3 eggs and 1/2 c of oil as per other reviews then iced with whipping cream icing. i also made as cupcakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this many, many times... it's delicious every time. It never lasts long! It's delicious plain, but I like to serve it with whipped cream and raspberries. I don't recommend dusting it with powdered sugar, though, because the cake is too moist. It makes it look like it has a damp gray coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Omg!!!!!! This is so moist followed the recip as written with the exception of the chocolate chips because I didn't have any on hand and it still tasted great, can't wait to make again with the chocolate chips and then frost.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The first time I made this cake, my husband and I could not belive how moist and fluffy this cake cake out. The second time, I made it for a family dinner part. It was gone down to the last crumb. Made the recipe as is both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I've been making this for years! Only difference is it MUST BE Duncan Hines Butter in the recipe cake mix and I add 4 T. rum. I put a choc. glaze over it. don't spoil it with SUGAR FREE horrible tasting stuff. It's CAKE. Live with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Soooo good. I made this cake for Easter and the family loved it. Best chocolate cake ever. I took others advice and used coffee instead of water. The search is over, this is it! Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
HEALTHY VERSION WINS TASTE TEST! I made 2 cakes and brought them to work for a blind taste-test (they were marked only as 'A' and 'B'). I made the first as printed with the only change being 1/2C oil, coffee instead of water, and chunks of semi-sweet chocolate for the chips. The other (healthified) with with equal swaps of sugar free chocolate pudding, no sugar applesauce for oil, egg white for whole eggs, greek yogurt instead of sour cream, no chocolate chunks and coffee instead of water. Not only did 50% of tasters guess incorrectly on which was healthy, but 100%said the healthy version tasted better! It was awesome to do a true blind taste test for something like chocolate cake! Score one for the fat-cutters! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really easy to make - added 1/2 tsp instant coffee to hot water. Used regular size choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
OMG!!! I just made this cake yesterday, for my Grandson's birthday. I've had this recipe for years. 1 cup of oil is excessive though, I only use 1/2 cup. I use Devil's Food cake mix and replace the chocolate chips with 30 miniature peanut butter cups, cut in quarters, which I fold in after mixing. Bake it in 2 (9" round) layer cake pans, frost with my buttercream recipe (to which I add 1/2 cup of peanut butter) and garnish the top with additional peanut butter cups. YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States