Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This cake needs to sit for a few hours before eating it!!!!! When this cake came out of the oven, I was not impressed. Per some of the previous reviewers, I used applesauce and egg beaters and coffee with dark chocolate chips. It had a hard crust around it, and I thought that it had a funny aftertaste. So we had leftovers, and stuck them in an airtight container. I had a bite a few hours later. WOW!!!!!! Now this was one amazing cake!!!! All of the flavours had blended, and the crust had turned soft. It was one of the softest, moistest, most delicious cakes I have ever had. I will make this recipe again. And try slightly different flavours, and make it again. Then again. WONDERFUL!!!!!! But ONLY if it sits in an airtight container first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this cake for my son's 13th birthday because he specifically requested a chocolate cake with chocolate chips in it. Needless to say, it was a big hit! I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written adding only about 2 tablespoons of cocoa for some extra chocolate umph! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trivia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
a little dry but overall tasty! the choc chips were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made this for my son's 8th birthday and it was a hit! I cut the oil down to 3/4 cup and it was still moist and delicious. After it cooled, I sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Very easy and love the it's made with inexpensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyRus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is essentially a dump cake. Throw it together, pour into Bundt pan and bake. It's surprisingly plain and made better by the addition of rum raisin (or other flavor) ice cream. My company, kids included, liked it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Just prefect!!! This cake is so moist. I know everyone, even myself likes to change or modify recipes but I wouldn't change a thing. I did make it twice. And founnd that 60 min in my oven was to long- 50 min was prefect. i guess it just depends on the oven. other than that- don't mess with this one. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinegarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Added a chocolate glaze and it was amazing! A keeper for gifts, desserts, or ... Very easy to make and very moist. In a bundt pan, it will take 1 hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBTRFLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quiqui
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So easy to make! I used 1/2 cup veg. oil + 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup veg. oil. And I also used 1/2 cup hot coffee instead of hot water. It came out great for our Thanksgiving dinner table...Thanks for the great recipe and good tips from the other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great cake, very easy to make. I needed to make 2 cake for a bake sale and this is the recipe I choose. I know some people don't like the substitutions but I love them. I used no sugar added applesauce instead of oil, fat free sour cream instead of regular and it tasted great. I didn't sub the eggs because I didn't have egg beaters but next time I will. My 13 year old son made the first batch into chocolate cupcakes and they were great. No icing needed. What I like about this recipe is it's not too sweet. The two cakes came out great. Will add this to my recipe box and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This Cake is Amazing ! My 6 year old son said he wanted chocolate on chocolate on chocolate cake for his birthday so i made this recipe used applesauce instead of oil and used the pro ganche for the icing and it was just what he wanted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States