Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
made this over the weekend for my daughter, she loved it. we will definitely make it again. followed other suggestions and only did 1/2c oil. it was still super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
made this cake today for supper at my daughter's house everybody loved this cake! super moist,rich and chocolate lover's dream come true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
"This is the best cake you ever made me for my birthday!" Since it was the 29th birthday cake I've made for him so far, I took this as a fantastic compliment! I used 1/2 the oil, as suggested by other reviewers and added extra mini chocolate chips. This cake was moist and chocolaty, and perfect as a layer cake. I frosted it with homemade decorator icing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very moist and rich, but no real WOW factor for me and I love chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Man I hate to bash a recipe, but 1 cup of oil and 4 eggs is just way too much for this. After mixing all the ingredients you could see how visibly slick and oily it was. Like others said, cut to 1/2 cup oil and I even think you can get away with 3 eggs since youre adding a 1 cup of sour cream. I honestly dont even want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made many of the changes that are suggested to lighten the calorie and fat load, because over 500 calories per slice is insane! I used light sour cream, used 1/4 cup of oil and 1/4 cup applesauce and a fat free sugar free pudding. These changes make the cake slightly more dry, but if you bake it a day ahead and keep it covered it will be just as moist and delicious as the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
It's a wonderful recipe! People love it when I do it. It's fast and easy and taste fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I have made this cake several times and it is great each time. Only change I have made is I use vanila cake mix and it is a hit. Everyone asks for the recipe for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
WOW! Using a devil's food cake mix is the secret. Very moist and rich. Everyone I have made it for loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States