Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is an awesome, easy chocolate cake recipe! I used a Devil's food cake mix (personal preference) and hot coffe instead of water for an extra rich chocolate flavor. I would not change up this recipe making it "less fattening"--it's a Chocolate cake for goodness sake--"Live, Love, Eat!!" (as Wolfgang Puck says)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I continue to make this cake at least once a week I've done lemon, chocolate w/orange glaze,Chocolate almond, and spice cake with bannana pudding and applesuce for oil 1/4 oil and 1/2 c of applesauce, I also added rasins pecans, and coconut with a cream cheese icing. I love this recipe. Thank You for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I fed this to my family (who are not cake eaters) and it was nearly gone. I followed the recipe exactly except for using light sour cream. It can be considered "Death by Chocolate" so if you don't like it rich, this may not be for you. I made a chocolate glaze that I dribbled on the top (1 c. chocolate chips, 4 Tbsp butter-flav shortening, 1 Tbsp light corn syrup mixed together over dbl boiler) - it was very yummy. Added strawberries to the middle of the bunt cake and it looked as good as it tasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent! I only used 1/2 oil and instead of the water, used hot, brewed coffee. My cake was done in 45 minutes, so start checking it before it's been in the oven one hour! It's easy, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
simply delicious!!! I sub'ed buttermilk for the water. It was marvelous. This is a keeper. Thanks for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I've had this cake in my recipe box for a looooong time and it's really good and easy. But you want to cut the oil down to 1/2 cup, replace the water with brewed coffee or even dark rum, and use chocolate chunks, or at least standard-size chocolate chips. After that it's a chocolate lover's heaven on earth. Tastes GREAT with Breyer's mint chip ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have made cupcakes out of this recipe (both regular size and mini) and they turn out just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Have been making this cake for over 30 years. As another reader noted, 1 cup oil is excessive. 1/2 cup is more then enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
You do not need 1 cup oil, you only need 1/2 cup. I've been making this recipe for several years from a Baker's chocolate recipe book before I saw it on this site and I've always only used 1/2 cup. I have used regular size semisweet chocolate chips at times, but most of the time have used 1 pkg.(8 1oz. squares) of semisweet baking chocolate chopped. Either way this cake is absolutely wonderful, and does not taste like it started out as a box mix. Everyone that I have ever made this recipe for loves it. You don't need a topping at all, but powdered sugar looks pretty if you dust it on after the cake cools. If you like chocolate, you'll love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
AMAZING!! We make it every holiday. Its rich and not dry. you have to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States