Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I didn’t have chocolate pudding, so I used vanilla. I also used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of oil. It was so moist and while it was still warm we dished it out (not frosted) and ate with several scoops of ice cream. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chignik Lagoon, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gizmokitty89
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
A great recipe! I used chocolate chunks instead of chips for a more textured cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmokitty89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was looking for a good cake with no frosting since the boyfriend doesn't like it, and this was excellent. I used butter cake mix, vanilla pudding, and an entire package of semi-sweet chocolate chips. The only changes I made were that I used a sheet cake pan and coated the chips in flour before mixing them in so that they wouldn't sink to the bottom. This tasted like a giant moist chocolate chip cookie! Thank you so much this was incredibly easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I've made this twice,once for someone's birthday and once for a baby shower, and everyone LOVED it! It was so moist and very chocolaty. Both times I made it in a big sheet pan, and it is a great recipe for decorative cakes because it is so dense and heavy. I used regular chocolate chips the first time and mini ones the second, and I think the regular ones make give it a better texture. This cake is awesome and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have made cakes like this before, so I am familiar with the formula. I agree with naples34102 that a whole cup of vegetable oil was unnecessary. I did use a melted stick of butter and double-brewed coffee in place of the water called for. I didn't have mini-chips, but I did have regular semi-sweet. This cake was not easy to just pour into the bundt pan, I had to scoop it with my spatula and then even/smooth it out. This took darn near an hour and a half to bake, covered a little over halfway through to keep the top and sides from burning. This is a gift for my husband's family-I'm sure they'll love it. NOTE: HUGE HIT. This was so moist and just chocolatey. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is one of the best tasting chocolate cakes I have ever made..definitely the fastest. I usually don't like the taste of box mixes but with all the additions it you cant tell its a box at all. Next time I will sub the oil for applesauce and light sour cream to make it a little healthier. If you like light moist cakes this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this cake for the 3rd or fourth time today and I think I finally got it right! After viewing other comments here are the changes I made: Yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding mix, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup cold coffee instead of the water, and 1/2 cup sour cream. The cake looked great and tasted even better! It had just a little bit of a tasty brown crust, and was soooo moist. The dusting of powdered sugar was just the right touch. Thank you Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
It was OK, I'm still searching for a more chocolate tasting cake. I subbed apple sauce for the oil. My family is not going back for seconds, so that tells me they are not impressed either, I am eating it all myself. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Sweet! Subbed with 1/2 cup veggie oil, 1/2 cup coffee (in place of the hot water), and added 1 tbsp. Mint extract per recipe. I made 75 cupcakes for my daughter's slumber party, and my e-mail's been swamped with requests from parents and teachers ever since! Stay creative, no frosting needed, fork optional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beechblondee5
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Best chocolate cake I have had!! I use naturally sweetened apple sauce instead of the oil and it comes out super moist every time!! I sprinkle it with powdered sugar and it's a hit every time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beechblondee5

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 111-120 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States