Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I have made this per recipe directions, but I now make it a little different (if you see how many calories for one serving, you'll know why I changed it a little. 525 calories for 1/12th of a cake? Who cuts it into that small of pieces....LOL) I use fat free sour cream, sugar free pudding and use 1c of no-sugar added applesauce instead of oil & egg beaters in place of eggs . It still tastes GREAT and you reduce the calories to about 290 calories a serving and the fat by OVER 1/2 per serving! (my husbands male co-workers ask for me to send this in about once a week and they have no idea it is 1/3 less calories, 1/2 the fat and less sugar then original recipe I sent in before) The orginal version is 6300 calories for the whole cake and 432 grams of fat. The reduced version is 3570 calories and 180 grams of fat for the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
622 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Two stars as written, simply because having made variations of this recipe many times I was familiar with it enough to know that a full cup of oil is not only unnecessary, but excessive. Using 1/2 cup of oil ups this to 4 stars. I used this as the base for "Ho Ho Cake," also from this site. In addition to the reduction in oil, I used a devil's food cake mix and, for oomph in chocolate flavor and to disguise that "cake mix taste," I used 1/2 cup of brewed coffee for the water and added 1 tsp. of chocolate extract. Moist and tender crumb, richer and more flavorful than just using the standard cake mix directions. This was just perfect for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I give this recipe an excellent review BUT I learned something on the second try. When I used tyhe recommended mini-chocolate chips they disappeared into the cake when baked. Next time I used chocolate chunks and they were obvious in the prepared cake which is what I was trying for. Extremely moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This just is really good. Make sure you use a devil's food cake mix. I also used dark chocolate chips and hot coffee for the water. It really intensified the chocolate taste. I also put a chocolate glaze on it but it really can do well with just a pretty dusting of powdered sugar. Why anyone would want to make this light I do not know. Live a little! Eat less, move more, and eat a variety of what you like in moderation people! Cutting corners by using light stuff or sugar free junk just isn't going to cut it. You won't be satisified and you'll eat more anyway. A little piece of this cake goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I lightened this cake up considerably, and it was still very, very tasty! I used devil's food cake mix, sugar-free, fat-free pudding, egg-substitute and light sour cream. Instead of using 1 whole cup of oil, I used 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup canola oil. Even with all these changes, it was still moist and delicious! I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and baked for only 25-30 minutes. For a tasty frosting, I used the 'Luscious Buttercream Frosting" from this site, adding 1/2 cup melted semi-sweet chocolate chips to the mix before spreading it on the cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wow!!! This is fantastic! It's flavorful, moist and dense, yet somehow light and just basically wonderful! AND i even made the recipe MUCH lighter in calories, so i'll share what i did for those of you who don't want the calorie-overload that the original provides. I used fat-free, sugar free chocolate fudge pudding mix with triple chocolate fudge cake mix (already has some chocolate chips in the mix!). I used fat-free sour cream and only 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the oil. Also, i only added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter (because the mix already had some). with these "lightening" adjustments, i only had to bake it for about 38 minutes, but after cooling in the pan for about 15 minutes, it came out easily and perfectly done! i glazed it with a combo of 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 2 T. butter and 1 T. corn syrup, but honestly, that was the only "iffy" part of this glorious cake. believe what they say ... it really DOESN'T need icing, cuz the cake part is that good!! so i'd suggest just tossing that extra 1/2 cup chips into the batter as well. anyway, i wanted to post this review for all of you wanting to make this cake but wary of it's super high-calorie content. with these adjustments, it makes 12 (BIG) pieces at only 360 calories ... not too bad for the awesome texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the dessert table. Everyone raved over it, with two people telling me it was the best chocolate cake they ever had! It was also the first dessert to disappear, so I know everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, but after the cake cooled I melted a can of ready made chocolate fudge frosting and drizzled the top of the cake with it, then sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the glaze. It looked as good as it tasted! I think this is going to be my new standard recipe when I want to make a chocolate dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I love this recipe!! The frist time I made it was for a cake action for 4-H and my cake sold for $175. Later I made it for a potluck and before I could get any it was gone. I suggest to drizle white chcolate on top to fancy it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Light and moist. Excellent presentation. I served it warm from the oven with whipping cream dusted with cocoa. Everyone loved it and wanted seconds!Thanks for sharing Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This cake got RAVE reviews! I am definitely saving this recipe. It's so easy to just throw everything into a bowl and mix it like that! I used a devil's food cake mix and when the cake was finished, I poked holes all over the cake and then poured melted frosting all over it. Then dusted with powdered sugar. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunSticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States