Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for a co-worker's birthday--it was devoured. I work with a bunch of men, and they all love chocolate. I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and used regular milk chocolate chips. Nice, quick recipe that I will use again. I think I'd like to try the butter cake mix with vanilla pudding as several others have mentioned. I didn't give 5 stars because only 1/2 c oil is needed and 2-3 eggs is enough. *Update- I tried the butter cake mix and vanilla pudding and didn't like it nearly as much as the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My absolute favorite cake is this same recipe with butter cake mix and vanilla pudding. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This cake was good. Good enough. It came together easily, cooked up fine and with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site made a nice presentation for a friend's birthday. However it wasn't earth shattering. The glaze was the best part. It worked out well but I would not be in a major rush to make it again. Thank you though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Excellent! Made exactly as written except I used regular size chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveBoxers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I rated this 5 stars, I use 1/2 c hot coffee no water. I took this to church affair was the biggest hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lenore, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
PERFECT as written! Sometimes I use a chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Made exactly as directed. It tasted fine, but not spectacular. I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is one of the first recipes I made since visiting this website in 2006. It is easy to make and delicious. My family along with coworkers just love it! I, as with other readers, sprinkle sifted 10X sugar to dress it up. I can always count on allrecipes.com when I am looking for ideas; whether it is a new recipe or one of the many I come back to all the time - like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
By far and away the easiest cake I've made! I usually don't change a thing although I've been making this for a couple of years, but I'll try the applesauce substitution, maybe the coffee. I've made this for 2 of my daughters' birthday parties each year and they like me to dip strawberries in chocolate and arrange them around the cake and also in the middle (they call this the "bundt hole.") I use a couple of different glazes, regular chocolate and white chocolate. I live at a high altitude and it's come out perfect every time without any changes to it. You just can't mess up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I didn’t have chocolate pudding, so I used vanilla. I also used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of oil. It was so moist and while it was still warm we dished it out (not frosted) and ate with several scoops of ice cream. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chignik Lagoon, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States