Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I have just baked this cake for the second time (Valentines Day present for my husband) and I've got to say, all the rave reviews are completly TRUE! I think I can safely say that I will never make a chocolate cake from a mix the rest of my days. I took one of the reviewers suggestion and used coffee in place of water the second cake and it definitely made it taste AND smell more chocolatley ... go figure! There was not one hang up. It baked exactley what the recipe said. It's firm and comes out of the pans perfectly and I used another reviewer's suggestion of cream in the icing instead of milk and it was "over the moon" good as a fully put together cake. Now ... if I can just find a perfect duplicate for a white cake and I'll be in baking heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Hunt
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This cake went over quite well at Christmas. Very moist - next time I will probably cut down on the oil by at least a quarter cup. I'm still not able to get his to quite taste like the chocolate chip cake my aunt makes, but will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Ilove this cake, but I used butter/yellow cake mix with vanilla pudding. I save some chocolate chips to melt and drizzle over the top, then sprinkled with powdered sugar. This recipe is a delicious, moist cake! Used Often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for a party last night. Used dark chocolate store-brand mix, coffee instead of the water, 1/2 c applesause for 1/2 c oil, and regular-sized chocolate chips. It was a hit! No icing needed; I just dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is so rich and delicious! I soften some good chocolate frosting and drizzle on my cake. A must have recipe for chocolate lovers! Perfect with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofgilliam
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
sooooo easy! baked for the hour and was concerned that a knife didn't come out clean. don't even worry about it - when it cools, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake was a hit with my holiday crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. It was very easy. The outcome was a simple, almost brownie like cake. I had hoped that it would be a bit more moist. It had a nice taste to it, just a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This cake was good, but it just didn't have the moisture level I was looking for. Everyone ate it, regardless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It was good not great though.My husband said it tasted like a huge brownie.I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States