Lisa's Best Baked Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wow - and then some! I used oyster crackers smashed up in a freezer baggie. I had 12 giant Quahog clams that I shucked myself - saved the clam liquor & froze. I added bay scallops, green peppers, green onions, garlic, parsley and mixed it all together. Added a small amount of clam liquor. Melted more than 1/2 stick butter. Filled up and pressed down the clam mixture into the big clam shells - it still made me 14 clams! Topped with melted butter and baked for 20 min - remember my clams had not been cooked. The result is out of this world!!!! Better than I've had at ANY seafood restaurant and I've been cooking clams for half a century!!!!! Thank you Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I don't eat seafood but my bf bought clams and wanted me to cook them. I had no idea how but your recipe looked easy so I tried it. He LOVED them. He said they were the best clams he ever had and said he wished he'd bought more. Thanks so much for a great recipe and so easy! (I had smaller clams but I used only 1/4 cup of butter and the same amount for the rest of the ingredients..a half cup seemed like a lot and the crumbs had plenty of buttery goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe is good but one has to be careful because the flavor of the garlic overlaps the seafood flavor. I didn't like the fact that the cracker got kind of crumbly, it will be better to lift the clam with a fork before adding the cracker, otherwise it will fall of the shell while taking the clam out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of clams but I enjoyed this dish. I omitted the parsley, and added some finely grated Parm to the crumb mixture. The fresh lemon is a must! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I substituted store-brought italian bread crumbs and used real chunks of garlic, and it turned out delicious. Also shaved a healthy portion of romano into the mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Try putting your clams in the freezer and freeze them. When they thaw out they will open and be ready to use. I use bread brumbs and minced celery and baste with butter as they are baking. Very good recipe. Thanks McGee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is the closest recipe to one one the greatest dishes in Santa Barbara at a renown resturant called brophy's. This got me clse although I just used regular bread crumbs, but the extra ingrediants that made it a 5 was adding parmesian and a piece of bacon in it befre baking. It is better to cook the bacon beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I grilled minced onions in skillet before adding other ingredients. They were very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very easy and quite the impressive treat coming out of the oven! Served as appetizers for my husband's birthday dinner- he LOVED them and was quite impressed. Think it may have been better with fresh parsley and only 2 tablespoons of garlic-- will try with these changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
very good! I gave four stars because I felt the taste got a little over whelming after 3 and that was w/ just two tbls of garlic. Would not use as a main course but a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States