Lisa's Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe! I did omit the coconut milk due to allergies. It was great without it! I added onion to it for my hubby but would still be good without it. I wouldn't do anything to this recipe however, for those of you that don't like coconut don't pass this recipe up because the recipe can stand on it's own without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stukndelco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Linwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Not traditional but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdsunluvit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is slightly adobo with but more of an adobo with coconut milk... coconut milk adobo will do very well with Crabs! Thats another story
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
The chicken was tender and had great flavor. It seemed to me that the sauce should have been thicker, but this was the first time that I'd had adobo. My husband, who grew up in the Philippines, confessed that it wasn't quite like what he was used to. Of course, the recipe does say that it's Americanized, so that's understandable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I grew up in Indonesia (neighboring the Phillipines) and this is very close to our recipe for Rendang. We just don't use the vinegar. We use less Chinese Soy Sauce but also add Kecap Manis Sweet Thick soy sauce. Adda boullion cube or two and it is just fantastic over rice. Wonderful job Metalmama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Good recipe, not as sour as I remember it being and I wish the sauce was thicker but my daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Very good. I made this recipe with chicken and the meat was tender and tasty. My husband liked it very much, but I wasn't in love with the sauce. I let the soy sauce, vinegar and broth (and bay leaves and garlic) reduce in the dutch oven, which worked wonders on the chicken, but I didn't feel that adding the coconut milk really improved anything other than thickening a sauce that didn't really work as a sauce for me. I would make this again, because it flavored the meat so well, but maybe next time I'll serve the chicken without a pool of sauce to flavor it and the rice, if that makes sense. Either way, Metalmommy, thank you for the recipe. I liked it very much, and I hope my comments don't seem to indicate otherwise :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I make this all the time with chicken. I make big bathces, because it makes great leftovers. It does have a lot of liquid, but the flour helps thicken it into a nice gravy-like sauce. I've never had adobo so I can't comment on the authenticity of this recipe, but it definitely tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This tasted fine, but it does not taste like Adobo. It tastes a lot more like ginataan, and is much too watery, although I like a bit of sauce with my adobo. I would suggest frying the garlic first, and then add the meat, not the other way around. I would also add more soy sauce and less chicken broth. The coconut, not a usual addition to adobo was new and interesting, and while not traditional, still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I floured the meat before browning. Made it the day before serving and refrigerated over-night. Day of serving I added flour and coconut milk. Served over rice. It was very well received by the Superbowl fans I served it to. The meat was very tender and I would serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States