Liquor-Infused Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is a good idea but turn out to be super messy! I used a flavor injector to infuse the strawberries. they became soggy the next day and really were not all that great. I will make regular chocolate dipped strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used a 'flavor injector' syringe and found out it depends a lot on the size and type of strawberries as to how much you can inject. Large organic ones worked the best for me, and I placed a dab of chocolate over the hole to hold the liquid in because even after sitting for hours it wasn't completely absorbed. The orange liquor was fun (Grand Marnier) but I also used a whipped cream flavored vodka...very fun as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The best chocolate-covered strawberries I've ever had! The strawberries were out of season and therefore a tad tart and firm, but the liquor made them seem as juicy and sweet and if it were July. I did reduce the amount of chocolate since it was way too much - based on other chocolate-covered strawberry recipes I decided on 5 oz. and it was perfect. I also skipped the cream, cause I like my chocolate dark. Used the specified amount of shortening and brandy in the chocolate, and injected each berry by feel - no real idea how much but less than 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Tried making these last night. When I added the GM and cream to the chocolate it became a big blob. Could not even dip strawberries. I will omit this step next time. Any ideas as to why this happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
It was definitely more time consuming than I wanted, so I made a short cut: instead of making my own homemade chocolate dipping sauce, I just mixed some Kahlua with whipped frosting (I used cream cheese flavored, but chocolate would have been great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
IMPORTANT!!!!! WARM YOUR CREAM TO PREVENT CHOCOLATE FROM SEIZING!!!!!!! Cream brought to just below a simmer will stop it from seizing the chocolate. Cold fat doesn't do well with warm fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Although this is the only recipe for chocolate covered strawberries that includes liquor on allrecipe.com, I really had trouble with it. The brandy tended to squirt out (and Grand Marnier is really expensive), and when I went to make the chocolate it was way to bitter, even with extra cream. I'm not sure what I did wrong but it really did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Roommates barely let the chocolate set before they gobbled them up! I used three different liquors: Grand Marnier, Kahlua, and Bailey's Irish Cream (which we ended up liking the most). Before I injected the strawberries, I used a toothpick to dig a small "well" in the center of each strawberry as previous reviewers have suggested. After I injected the strawberries, I placed them in separate compartments of an empty ice cube tray, which helped keep things neat and tidy. I also didn't add any GM to the chocolate, and opted instead to drizzle the chocolate over the strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Too much trouble for results. I have made simplier microwave chocolate covered strawberries that came out better. The strawberries were too mushy and wet after injecting with liquor. The white chocolate didn't add much flavor and didn't melt as easily as milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States