Liquor-Infused Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The best chocolate-covered strawberries I've ever had! The strawberries were out of season and therefore a tad tart and firm, but the liquor made them seem as juicy and sweet and if it were July. I did reduce the amount of chocolate since it was way too much - based on other chocolate-covered strawberry recipes I decided on 5 oz. and it was perfect. I also skipped the cream, cause I like my chocolate dark. Used the specified amount of shortening and brandy in the chocolate, and injected each berry by feel - no real idea how much but less than 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
What a good idea!! So easy and so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
These are addicting! I took the advice of CHEFMARGARITA & used a skewer to dig a little tunnel out of each strawberry. A bit time consuming but effective. I used an injector to inject Godiva white chocolate liquer & even though I had tunneled them out, there was still no way I could get 2 tsps in. I refrigerated them for a couple of hours & then just melted semi-sweet chocolate to dip them in. (I had already spent so much time on them & I ws afraid my chocolate would seize if I added liquid). I did not drizzle them w/ white chocolate but if I were serving them to guests, I would for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Decadent! Used Grand Marnier because I love that stuff. I just melted regular chocolate chips and I thought it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
These strawberries last about 2 seconds once you bring them out! You can only inject about 1/2 tsp in a regular sized berry. You'd need "frankenfruit" to be able to put 2 tsp in a strawberry. I used a thin shishkabob stick to make a hole at the middle of the strawberry leaf down into the middle to make more room for the liquor. Be careful not to poke the hole through the strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These were the star of the show at a party I threw. I used insulin syringes to inject the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Thank you for a great recipe. What a time we had not only making these, but eating these as well, or should i say inhaling them. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used a 'flavor injector' syringe and found out it depends a lot on the size and type of strawberries as to how much you can inject. Large organic ones worked the best for me, and I placed a dab of chocolate over the hole to hold the liquid in because even after sitting for hours it wasn't completely absorbed. The orange liquor was fun (Grand Marnier) but I also used a whipped cream flavored vodka...very fun as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Roommates barely let the chocolate set before they gobbled them up! I used three different liquors: Grand Marnier, Kahlua, and Bailey's Irish Cream (which we ended up liking the most). Before I injected the strawberries, I used a toothpick to dig a small "well" in the center of each strawberry as previous reviewers have suggested. After I injected the strawberries, I placed them in separate compartments of an empty ice cube tray, which helped keep things neat and tidy. I also didn't add any GM to the chocolate, and opted instead to drizzle the chocolate over the strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
It was definitely more time consuming than I wanted, so I made a short cut: instead of making my own homemade chocolate dipping sauce, I just mixed some Kahlua with whipped frosting (I used cream cheese flavored, but chocolate would have been great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States