Liquor-Infused Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These were very good. I just used dipping chocolate without the other liquids, because I didn't want to mess with trying to keep the chocolate from seizing. I didn't have a syringe in the house, so I took another reviewer's advice and used a skewer. I poked 3 tunnels in the small end of each strawberry, and they stayed upright on the leaf end. I used a pastry tip as a funnel to pour the liquor in. After a half hour in the fridge the liquor either soaked into the strawberries or solidified enough that it did not leak out when I turned the strawberries upside down to dip. I made some with rum, some with rum cream, and some with Bailey's. I thought the ones with Bailey's were best, but they were all delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We made these for a party and they needed a few adjustments. I was only able to inject a max. of 1 tsp. of liquor into the strawberries and those were the big ones. Also, when I added the cream and liquor to the melted chocolate it became clump and did not stick to the berries. After throwing that away I remade the chocolate with just the shortening and it turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designercook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
What a good idea!! So easy and so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I used 1 pound of milk chocolate with 2 tablespoons shortening. I also infused the strawberries with Godiva Cappuccino Liqueur. Let me tell you, these were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Thank you for a great recipe. What a time we had not only making these, but eating these as well, or should i say inhaling them. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
These are addicting! I took the advice of CHEFMARGARITA & used a skewer to dig a little tunnel out of each strawberry. A bit time consuming but effective. I used an injector to inject Godiva white chocolate liquer & even though I had tunneled them out, there was still no way I could get 2 tsps in. I refrigerated them for a couple of hours & then just melted semi-sweet chocolate to dip them in. (I had already spent so much time on them & I ws afraid my chocolate would seize if I added liquid). I did not drizzle them w/ white chocolate but if I were serving them to guests, I would for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These were the star of the show at a party I threw. I used insulin syringes to inject the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Didn't go over as well as I had though however will try this again in the summer. Only took me 30 min to complete this recipes. Was not hard at all. However the chocolate was a little thick and I had to brushed the chocolate onto the stawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I gave this 2 stars because of all the pain this recipe put me through. I had to make 3 trips to the store and paid over $35 for chocolate and spent half the day making them. Great idea for strawberries, but do yourself a favor, just melt the chocolate and DO NOT add anything to it. Even tempered, the cream and grand marnier will harden the chocolate instantly. With all said and done, they came out beautiful and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
These strawberries last about 2 seconds once you bring them out! You can only inject about 1/2 tsp in a regular sized berry. You'd need "frankenfruit" to be able to put 2 tsp in a strawberry. I used a thin shishkabob stick to make a hole at the middle of the strawberry leaf down into the middle to make more room for the liquor. Be careful not to poke the hole through the strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States