Liquor-Infused Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
My tips: 1. Just use melted chocolate without adding cream or brandy. (MUCH easier!) 2. I find that I get better results if I dip them in chocolate and let them set BEFORE I inject the brandy. As others have stated, you can use whatever liquor you prefer. Always get compliments on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is a good idea but turn out to be super messy! I used a flavor injector to infuse the strawberries. they became soggy the next day and really were not all that great. I will make regular chocolate dipped strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used a 'flavor injector' syringe and found out it depends a lot on the size and type of strawberries as to how much you can inject. Large organic ones worked the best for me, and I placed a dab of chocolate over the hole to hold the liquid in because even after sitting for hours it wasn't completely absorbed. The orange liquor was fun (Grand Marnier) but I also used a whipped cream flavored vodka...very fun as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The best chocolate-covered strawberries I've ever had! The strawberries were out of season and therefore a tad tart and firm, but the liquor made them seem as juicy and sweet and if it were July. I did reduce the amount of chocolate since it was way too much - based on other chocolate-covered strawberry recipes I decided on 5 oz. and it was perfect. I also skipped the cream, cause I like my chocolate dark. Used the specified amount of shortening and brandy in the chocolate, and injected each berry by feel - no real idea how much but less than 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Tried making these last night. When I added the GM and cream to the chocolate it became a big blob. Could not even dip strawberries. I will omit this step next time. Any ideas as to why this happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
It was definitely more time consuming than I wanted, so I made a short cut: instead of making my own homemade chocolate dipping sauce, I just mixed some Kahlua with whipped frosting (I used cream cheese flavored, but chocolate would have been great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
IMPORTANT!!!!! WARM YOUR CREAM TO PREVENT CHOCOLATE FROM SEIZING!!!!!!! Cream brought to just below a simmer will stop it from seizing the chocolate. Cold fat doesn't do well with warm fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Although this is the only recipe for chocolate covered strawberries that includes liquor on allrecipe.com, I really had trouble with it. The brandy tended to squirt out (and Grand Marnier is really expensive), and when I went to make the chocolate it was way to bitter, even with extra cream. I'm not sure what I did wrong but it really did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Roommates barely let the chocolate set before they gobbled them up! I used three different liquors: Grand Marnier, Kahlua, and Bailey's Irish Cream (which we ended up liking the most). Before I injected the strawberries, I used a toothpick to dig a small "well" in the center of each strawberry as previous reviewers have suggested. After I injected the strawberries, I placed them in separate compartments of an empty ice cube tray, which helped keep things neat and tidy. I also didn't add any GM to the chocolate, and opted instead to drizzle the chocolate over the strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States