Lip-smacking Popcorn Concoction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Here's my twist: I used 2 bags Natural, Salted popcorn, 1 bag dried cranberries, 1 bag goldfish pretzels, 4 cups of Kix (whole pecans or almonds would be a nice addition if serving adults). I mixed all ingredients into a brown paper grocery bag. Instead of almond bark, I melted one 14 oz. bag of Wilton candy melts. It was the perfect amount of chocolate about about a fifth of the cost. Pour as directed. Perfect taste and makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This stuff is GOOD! I made a half batch and used a few substitutes from what I had in the cupboards... 1/3c. popping corn kernels, popped, 2c. Kix, 1c. Life cereal, 1/2c. peanuts, crushed, 1c. pretzel twists, broken up, 1/2 lb vanilla almond bark. My preschooler was able to help me with all the dry ingredients, too. It has a light tasting popcorn ball flavor and a good salty/sweet balance (so my husband will love it!) It is still cooling but I just can't stop eating! The half batch was perfect for a family with two small kids. Will definitely be adding this to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Nielsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Instant family favorited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent & addicting. I didn't use fritos... but everything else. Everyone loved it & although it seems to make a ton... it all went! My word of advice. Make sure you don't "dump" the popcorn.... I made that mistake & had to try to pick out all the kernels. Giant pain. Once they are in... big chance they will get stuck in the melted coating & someone will bite down on it. (I had to "warn" my family!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made three batches if this stuff and it keeps disappearing. It is so good! I have made it as written and also substituting rice chex for half of the kix, and added cheese-its to one batch. Perfect combination of sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Sounded great & the online reviews were glowing. I was sold with "never have leftovers". But... I had leftovers - practically the entire batch. Eleven teens barely touched this. Some girls ate it when I prompted late in the night. Anybody who said they liked it got a full bag to take home with 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I make this every year for our annual Oscar party. One batch fills the largest bowl I own and I always think "they won't eat it all this year" but it is always all gone... and I make a lot of other good food for this party. One year I gave it out in popcorn bags as favors. I wear gloves to toss everything together with my hands, I don't use the cereal, and a helper to pour the coating chocolate in is a good tip. I also pop the popcorn from scratch adding some salt while it's hot. My friend calls it addictive marshmallow popcorn stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love this popcorn. I make it at Christmas time and add green and red sugar. I also add melted chocolate bark on top before I cover it. At Halloween, I add orange and black sugar. And just red sugar at Valentines Day. I usually leave out the Kix cereal and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Really good! I added some dried sweetened cranberries for some color and sweetness as well as drizzled chocolate flavored bark while it was cooling down. Made beautiful holiday gifts (in cello bags) that I received many compliments on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
SO DELICIOUS!! My brother-in-law (who is very picky and doesn't ever say anything) wanted me to make some just for him! I halved the recipe to mix it, which made it a lot easier to stir. This is so good, you must make the whole recipe, though! My kids devoured it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States