Lion House Wassail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My favoite recipe so far. I did not have the allspice berries or the whole cloves on hand so I substitued 2 tblspn of pumpkin pie spice. It tasted wonderful. Oh, I also put a shot of spiced rum in it sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very good recipe. I left out the ginger root and used Splenda instead of sugar...plus a little spiced rum made it just a little bit better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This has become a tradition for us going on many years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is my new favorite drink! Absolutely delicious. It tasted just like Stephen's Citrus Spice Drink. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe ROCKS!! I made it for out office as an alternative to coffee. There are 7 of us and the recipe will fill a large crock pot, the oval kind you can fit ribs in. Well the 7 of us killed off the 35 servings the straight recipe will produce. (NOTE: put in the cloves LAST. Cloves when steeping have a time limit. When they steep for too long they'll make the wassail, or whatever they're steeping in, bitter!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this so much, I serve it year-round! My changes: add 1/2 T balsamic vinegar, 1/4 c brown sugar (no white), 2 c water [or more], 1 L. cinnamon stick-broken up, minced ginger root, 3 T lime juice, 1 c peach juice, apple cider [Organic 946 ml is awesome] instead of apple juice, 3 T honey, a bunch of orange zest, more allspice, more cloves, 2 oranges juiced into the pot and add the empty halves, quartered-squeezed-scored lemons; it's different every time... at Christmas, mandarin oranges, halved, squeezed and deeply scored go in ,too. The floating fruit makes it more festive, and the daring can sip it unstrained to get luscious bits of pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
made this for christmas eve - everyone loved it - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This Wassail recipe was delicious, but if you'd like a stronger spicy cinnamon flavor I add "Hot Tamales or Red Hots" which are hard candy that will dissolve in the mix as you boil. The result is great and you can substitute the sugar and cinnamon measurement with this candy, two in one. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe for the holidays. If you want to add a little pizazz to the presentation, add a few sliced oranges, lemons and limes to the serving bowl. I insert whole cloves into an apple and let that float as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good. I added a couple of things. A small can of mandrin oranges add a wonderful flavor and I also dissolve 1/8 cup of cinnamon imperials. This adds a beautiful red color and a slight spicy taste to it. This is one the kids love to help with because they can pour all the ingrdients in before you add to the heat. I also cut back on the cloves as I added plenty of spice with the candies. Great for any winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States