Linzer Torte Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Delicious and quick - served it at a dinner party with whipped cream and raspberries on top-everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I thought this recipe sounded interesting but have to say I was VERY disappointed. An avid baker, perhaps my taste is too picky, but I found this cookie very dry (following the recipe exactly). The flavors were great but the thick crust, using half of the dough, really distracted from the result. Perhaps a thinner crust, altering the amounts to make it more moist, or something else. As I said, the flavor of the dough was GREAT, it was just too dry. (Perhaps that is the way it is supposed to be...) Thanks for taking the time to share your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
These are almost exactly as I remember them! I'm Hungarian and find myself longing for these exceptionally hard to find "goodies". These are just great---and NO, they're not meant to be chewy or moist--they are exacttly the way they're supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
a great cookie that will become a dependable stand bye. alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is quick and easy and has been a favorite at occasions for the past two years. I actually get requests to make this and bring it for parties and showers. I highly recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I had the best Linzer cookies at the Java Hut in Vancouver, Canada, when we lived there last year. I was hoping these would be a good replacement for them now we're home - and they do come close. They were very tasty. The lemon, cloves and almond made a real impact and stood them apart from other normal cookies. I have to admit that there was a lot of work involved. Not in the making of the dough (which is a breeze if you have a dough-hook on your food processor), but in the cutting out of the cookie shapes (I was trying to go for the Vancouver format), the spreading of jam, topping with the cut out layer and glazing with icing. I think for that reason I will probably not make them again, but will savour the memory of my Canadian Linzer cookie experiences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These cookies turned out very very tasty, and only lasted a day in my house. My only problem was the whole rolling out of the ropes thing - it just wasn't happening with my dough. I did end up getting the ropes made though, but there's was no way I could roll them without the dough falling apart. They were thus a bit time consuming to make, but in the end, the taste was worth it. I think I may make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I'm German and these taste just like my grondmother's. They are great! And yes, they are suppose to be dry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is perfectly delicious! Everyone loves when I make this, and it is not hard. I toast my almonds before I grind them for an even nuttier flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Great Torte Cookies!!! From, Chef Chuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States