Linzer Torte Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lisalaluna
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These cookies are amazing! I substituted toasted hazelnuts for the blanched almonds and used whole wheat flour. The dough is tricky to roll out, but managable and it's worth the work! When making the cookie version, have a little bowl of water handy to make repairs to the crumbling cookies before going in the oven. The mending works and the cookies turn out nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalaluna
Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
They were excellent! My whole family loved the flavour. I cut them a bit large though, next time I will use a smaller cutter and roll the dough a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyalex89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
these taste just like the linzer torte my hubby's german grandma makes. i was gonna beg her for the recipe then i found this!! my father in law even approves! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
1 of the best cookies I've made. Delicious and look great. I substituted 1/2 the butter with equal amount of canola oil. At first cookies were too soft and smudging or crumbling as I tried to lift after rolling to put onto cookie sheet and bake. Took advice of a few folks her and chilled for 15 min's or so, and that made all the difference. Was then able to lift off and retain the perfect shape Sprinkle with sugar and put in a cookie tin... makes an elegant cookie to take to a party... and they won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This cookie smells much better than it tastes. The dough is rich with aromas of the cloves and lemon and cinnamon. But when the cookies have been baked they come out bland and clunky. Also had a problem in making the individual cookie cutter shapes - without baking the jam this became a very messy and sticky dessert. I finished all the cookies I made, but won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krschumm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Hands down the best christmas cookie recipe. I could not stop eating them. If your going to make a linzer cookies this is the best one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is a great Linzer Torte recipe! I tweaked the recipe and instructions a bit. I didn't have any almonds or cloves on hand, so I substituted with more flour, just a little more of cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla extract. The lemon zest is a MUST for this recipe! The lemon flavor comes out beautifully and makes the cookie stand out. I opted for the cut-out method and used star cutters. I had to tweak the flour content to get the consistency to where it wasn't sticky and/or falling apart. I also chilled the dough for about half an hour before rolling and cutting out the shapes. I raised the temperature to 375 as well since my first batch seemed to puff up and ruin the star shape. Spreading the raspberry jam was very simple. Remember to spread a very thin layer and use a quality jam. Top with a bit of powdered sugar, and they're the perfect gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great cookie, a little more love needs to be put into these than most cookies as there is layering involved - Not that difficult to do though - Make sure to use a HIGH QUALITY FRUIT PRESERVE as that will make or brake them! Also would suggest taking the time to make cookie SHAPES instead of the cookie BAR variation, it looks much better and the edges won't get DRIED OUT or BURNT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love these bars. I did not do the cut out cookies but made them in a pan and cut them into bars and they were so good. They froze well too. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
just what i was looking for. i used strawberry jam and that were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAKRISTI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States