Linzer Torte Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is a great Linzer Torte recipe! I tweaked the recipe and instructions a bit. I didn't have any almonds or cloves on hand, so I substituted with more flour, just a little more of cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla extract. The lemon zest is a MUST for this recipe! The lemon flavor comes out beautifully and makes the cookie stand out. I opted for the cut-out method and used star cutters. I had to tweak the flour content to get the consistency to where it wasn't sticky and/or falling apart. I also chilled the dough for about half an hour before rolling and cutting out the shapes. I raised the temperature to 375 as well since my first batch seemed to puff up and ruin the star shape. Spreading the raspberry jam was very simple. Remember to spread a very thin layer and use a quality jam. Top with a bit of powdered sugar, and they're the perfect gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe. I am from Eastern Europe so we made these growing up, but this recipe is actually much better than the one we had. The cookies are supposed to be dry when they come out of the oven, but they soften with time. That's why we always made these a couple of weeks before Christmas. The dough was very easy to work with and the cookies came out looking great. They didn't puff up at all. They are very tasty as well. The trick to get them soft faster after they are assembled is to put them in an air-tight container with a few apple pieces overnight. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These cookies turned out very very tasty, and only lasted a day in my house. My only problem was the whole rolling out of the ropes thing - it just wasn't happening with my dough. I did end up getting the ropes made though, but there's was no way I could roll them without the dough falling apart. They were thus a bit time consuming to make, but in the end, the taste was worth it. I think I may make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I just finished making a double batch of these cookies and I must say that I am very proud of my efforts. The cookies are beautiful, and the taste is exceptional. I didn't blanch the almonds, but I did toast them in a dry iron skillet before grinding them in a recently purchased coffee grinder. The dough was flattened into a disk and wrapped in plastic wrap before chilling over-night. I used parchment paper on my baking sheets and had no trouble removing them after they finished baking. The cookies were fairly labor intensive, but then I think any rolled cookie is work! I will be proud to include them on my Christmas cookie trays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
These are almost exactly as I remember them! I'm Hungarian and find myself longing for these exceptionally hard to find "goodies". These are just great---and NO, they're not meant to be chewy or moist--they are exacttly the way they're supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I'm German and these taste just like my grondmother's. They are great! And yes, they are suppose to be dry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I thought this recipe sounded interesting but have to say I was VERY disappointed. An avid baker, perhaps my taste is too picky, but I found this cookie very dry (following the recipe exactly). The flavors were great but the thick crust, using half of the dough, really distracted from the result. Perhaps a thinner crust, altering the amounts to make it more moist, or something else. As I said, the flavor of the dough was GREAT, it was just too dry. (Perhaps that is the way it is supposed to be...) Thanks for taking the time to share your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These taste great! You just have to be patient and let the cookies soften. Many "European" Christmas cookies are quite hard after baking, but they're supposed to last longer, and usually get better, the longer they're stored! The dough was hard to roll out, but then I used foil to roll them and it worked. I used red currant jam - as in the real Linzer Torte. Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graz, Steiermark, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is perfectly delicious! Everyone loves when I make this, and it is not hard. I toast my almonds before I grind them for an even nuttier flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great cookie, a little more love needs to be put into these than most cookies as there is layering involved - Not that difficult to do though - Make sure to use a HIGH QUALITY FRUIT PRESERVE as that will make or brake them! Also would suggest taking the time to make cookie SHAPES instead of the cookie BAR variation, it looks much better and the edges won't get DRIED OUT or BURNT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States