Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by LMM
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These cookies have an EXCEPTIONAL taste & texture, but they were not easy for me to make. The dough was sticky & difficult even after hours of chilling, & I had to be very careful to watch the cookies as they baked because they burned easily, however, the final product was worth the effort! These are possible the most DELICIOUS cookies I have ever tasted!!!!!! Everyone who tried them could not believe how delicious they were! They also looked really lovely. I did not have raspberry jam on hand, so I used seedless blackberry jam & that worked out great! Despite the hard work, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I didn't have the 2-1/2" cookie cutter so I used a smaller cutter. I chilled the dough overnight & found it worked better if the dough was chilled (as you said) because once it warms, it's more difficult to work. I kneaded it and worked quickly to transfer cuts to the baking sheet. I made them thicker then an 1/8", more like 1/4". I watched the bake time since they were smaller and thicker and adjusted the time accordingly. I usually use preserves (thicker and sticks to the cookie w/o running), but had jam (to thin & runny but it worked out in the end). They have a nice buttery taste. I added a little almond extract to enhance the flavor. I will make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I have been looking for a great linzer tart recipe and I have found it!! They are so scrumptious and EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! I doubled the recipe and froze half the dough. I used it about 6 weeks later and the cookies were just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I feel like we have gotten the secret bakery recipe - these were beyond delicious. Throw out all other linzer recipes- we've struck gold with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
These were delicious as well as beautiful, and got RAVE reviews from all who ate them, although they were tedious to make (I doubled the recipe). Using parchment paper on the cookie sheets enabled me to slip the cookies right off without breaking them. I also used unheated squeezable seedless raspberry jam with good success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Excellent recipe for authentic tasting linzer tarts. These were even better the next day when the jam softened the cookie a little bit. I forgot to add the cinnamon by mistake and they still tasted incredible. They are labor intensive but I had fun rolling the dough and cutting out the shapes. You just have to gingerly handle everything. The end product is worth the effort. Linzer cookies cost $1.50 each in the bakery! This recipe makes about 30 cookies and they taste BETTER than the bakery. My mother could not believe that I made them, she said they looked so professional. I can't wait to make them in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. Thank you for a true 5 star recipe!!! NOTE: I have made these fantastic cookies numerous times and the most important piece of advice I can give is after to roll your dough out onto a pieice of wax paper and place the wax paper with the impressions in the freezer for 5 minutes. THEN, remove the rounded cut out shapes. If you do it when the dough is cold, your cookies will not break. Also, I just use Smuckers squeezable raspberry preserves, you do not have to warm the preserves. Anytime you have trouble with this dough just chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
These are unbelievably delicious and taste and look like authentic linzer cookies you would buy in a bakery. They are alot of work though, but in my opinion worth it for a christmas cookie tray. They dough was very difficult to work with so here is what I did. I refrigerated overnight. I took about a quarter of the dough and warmed it/kneaded it in my hands and placed it on top of a piece of parchment so it wouldn't stick. I then pressed down on it to begin to flatten it. Then I sprinkled it with flour and floured my rolling pin as I started to roll it. There were times that it stuck to the rolling pin or crumbled a bit but I just picked up the pieces and re rolled. The resulting cookies are light, almondy, buttery.........just delicious, impressive. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Oh, also! I did not heat any raspberry preserves! I just bought the Smuckers squeezable seedless raspberry jam; worked perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This recipe just didn't work for me. I've been making Linzer Tarts for several years now but misplaced my original recipe. Maybe it was me, but the dough would not cooperate. The first few turned out O.K. but then the dough got very sticky and no matter how much flour I used for the board or how many times I re-chilled the dough, it just kept falling apart. I ended up making thumb print cookies which spread and didn't turn out very pretty. As I said, it may have been me. So sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Don't be afraid of this recipe... it's delicious. Here are some helpful hints (from mistakes I've made). Grind the almonds REALLY fine- otherwise the cookies will tend to crumble. Serve them the day you make them, or the jam will seep into the cookie. They still taste delicious, but they will not look as pretty. (You can always keep them and eat them yourself). Be sure to refrigerate the dough. The longer the better. The dough is a little tricky to work with and a little sticky, but I promise it's worth it and you will get better each time you make them. I tried to make hearts, but the cookies are so flaky that it was hard to keep the hearts from cracking because there wasn't much cookie by the time I cut out the middle. Circles are definitely the way to go, but don't make the inner circle too big. These are absolutely delicious. They are as good as the ones I used to buy in the Italian bakery in Brooklyn and are now a standard recipe for Christmas in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This recipe makes absolutely beautiful presentation. I liked the cookies even better the next day as they soften a bit. I do agree that the jam must be warmed in order to get that "gluey" affect. My family raved about them and my hubby's co-workers all want the recipe. While they are not my personal favorite as I tend to lean towards goodies with chocolate in them, they were very well received. Again, the presentation was absolutely gift-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States