Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These were terrific!!! Used another reviewer's suggestion and rolled into a ball and then put a thumb print. Used a squeezeable raspberry jam and worked great. Received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Fantastic - worth every effort. We warmed red raspberry preserves (the NY bakeries all seem to use it). Next time I might make the cookies a little thicker to help stop from breaking so easily. DEFINATELY cool in fridge for at least 4 hours. The finer the almonds the better and a mixture would probably be nice for variety. To start the rolling process I found it easier to flatten by hand as much as possible then roll but definately keep as cool as possible. Parchment paper made it easy to work with after cooking. Better than bakery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Awesome cookies! I used "squeeze" preserves, which are a definite time saver. Don't know why, but I got 32 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I never made linzer tarts before, but I've eaten plenty of them. These were exquisite. They are buttery and nutty and delicious. Much better than a bakery's filled with hydrogenated soy junk. I didn't have trouble with the dough as others did. It will harden if made with real butter, and you MUST use real butter or don't bother to make them. In fact, I had to let mine warm up a bit to roll it out. Keep the flour handy to prevent sticking. I suggest to grind the nuts very fine (I will next time!) The baked cookies are delicate. I used Hero preserves with great success (they are thick and not runny) and heart shaped cookie cutters (a medium and a tiny one.) They are better the next day when they soften a little and glue together. I brought these to a cookie exchange party where they were a big hit and people kept asking if I made them. These are sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMM
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These cookies have an EXCEPTIONAL taste & texture, but they were not easy for me to make. The dough was sticky & difficult even after hours of chilling, & I had to be very careful to watch the cookies as they baked because they burned easily, however, the final product was worth the effort! These are possible the most DELICIOUS cookies I have ever tasted!!!!!! Everyone who tried them could not believe how delicious they were! They also looked really lovely. I did not have raspberry jam on hand, so I used seedless blackberry jam & that worked out great! Despite the hard work, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiting, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I didn't have the 2-1/2" cookie cutter so I used a smaller cutter. I chilled the dough overnight & found it worked better if the dough was chilled (as you said) because once it warms, it's more difficult to work. I kneaded it and worked quickly to transfer cuts to the baking sheet. I made them thicker then an 1/8", more like 1/4". I watched the bake time since they were smaller and thicker and adjusted the time accordingly. I usually use preserves (thicker and sticks to the cookie w/o running), but had jam (to thin & runny but it worked out in the end). They have a nice buttery taste. I added a little almond extract to enhance the flavor. I will make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I have been looking for a great linzer tart recipe and I have found it!! They are so scrumptious and EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! I doubled the recipe and froze half the dough. I used it about 6 weeks later and the cookies were just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I feel like we have gotten the secret bakery recipe - these were beyond delicious. Throw out all other linzer recipes- we've struck gold with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
These were delicious as well as beautiful, and got RAVE reviews from all who ate them, although they were tedious to make (I doubled the recipe). Using parchment paper on the cookie sheets enabled me to slip the cookies right off without breaking them. I also used unheated squeezable seedless raspberry jam with good success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Excellent recipe for authentic tasting linzer tarts. These were even better the next day when the jam softened the cookie a little bit. I forgot to add the cinnamon by mistake and they still tasted incredible. They are labor intensive but I had fun rolling the dough and cutting out the shapes. You just have to gingerly handle everything. The end product is worth the effort. Linzer cookies cost $1.50 each in the bakery! This recipe makes about 30 cookies and they taste BETTER than the bakery. My mother could not believe that I made them, she said they looked so professional. I can't wait to make them in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. Thank you for a true 5 star recipe!!! NOTE: I have made these fantastic cookies numerous times and the most important piece of advice I can give is after to roll your dough out onto a pieice of wax paper and place the wax paper with the impressions in the freezer for 5 minutes. THEN, remove the rounded cut out shapes. If you do it when the dough is cold, your cookies will not break. Also, I just use Smuckers squeezable raspberry preserves, you do not have to warm the preserves. Anytime you have trouble with this dough just chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States