Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
everyone really enjoys these they are a special treat that I only make around the holidays b/c they are a lot of work! My aunt bought me a liner tart cutting kit for Christmas last year so I would make them again,it doesn't make it any easier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
It's hard to review this recipe. On one hand, they were some of the best cookies I've ever had. On the other hand, the dough was nearly impossible to work with. I omitted the cinnamon and added 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and froze the dough after rolling and cutting and that is definitely a necessary step. However, my freezer is completely empty (I've just moved) and if my freezer had been full, I wouldn't have had room to freeze the cookie sheet. I'd try these again, but perhaps just roll the dough into balls, make an indentation, and fill with jam before baking. The taste is wonderful. It's definitely worth playing around with. UPDATE: I took my own suggestion and rolled the dough into balls, indented, filled with jam, baked, and dusted with confectioner's sugar. They were just perfect, and the first cookies to disappear at Christmastime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These are really fabulous - very Christmasy! I did have trouble with the dough, but followed what the other reviewers said and kept chilling the dough whenever it became too soft (in between rolling out, and before removing the centers from the cutout cookies!). I used a combination of ground almonds and pecans, as that's what was on hand and they turned out fabulously. To get the nuts ground into a powder, I cleaned out my coffee grinder! Would definitely recommend this, as it made for a nice smooth dough. The cookies still do come out very delicate. I would definitely recommend only rolling them to 1/4 inch thin, as any thinner and they fall apart. Will definitely be making these for Christmas cookie gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I made these for my family and they were gone in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
My family has made these cookies for generations and I wanted to try a slightly different recipe. TIPS: Don't be afraid to flour the dough as you roll to keep it from sticking. The cookies won't break with you cut the holes in the top if you don't overcook them. Cut the holes IMMEDIATELY after you get them out of the oven while still hot to keep them soft while cutting the hole. Dip the cookies in powdered suger IMMEDIATELY after getting them out of the oven to get the sugar to really stick to the cookie. They are hard work...but there is no better cookie. And there won't be a soul who doesn't want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
You better believe this was a great cookie. Yes,it's a tough dough to work with, but no worse than cookie cutters with shortbread dough. I purchased special cookie cutters for this which made it that much easier and prettier. I was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
The end result of these is nothing short of fantastic, but as others have said the dough is very tempermental. It was so time consuming that I felt that it wasn't worth the effort. The cookies however, were to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Most authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Time consuming, but they taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were fantastic!!!! I followed the advice of others and ground the almonds into a powder...it just works better. I also froze the dough in three balls, for about 2 hours, and they rolled out fine. A tip I learned...sandwich the dough between wax paper before you roll it out. It is easier to peel the dough off paper than a rolling pin. I also us3ed strawberry preserves and they were so yummy. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States