Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Unless you grind the almonds to dust you'll end up with a most indelicate, uncookie-like mess, as I did. Not worth the time and trouble for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Delicious and simple recipe. I added a couple of drops of Almond Extract and the flavor was yummy!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I'm trying to be better about reviewing since I appreciate them so much myslef. This was an excellent recipe. I followed the advic of all the previous reviewers and used different kinds of nuts for the batter and cooked down the jam to make it chewy. They were amazing! I made them as treats for the family for valentine's and everyone loved them. Had to go to 10 different stores to find heart shaped cookie cutters and will definitely be making these for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These cookies were delicious! I rolled the dough between sheets of parchment instead of flouring - I think this prevented the dough crumbling as others have seen. I didn't have a problem with the dough crumbling, I had a problem with it being too soft to hold its shape after cutting. To fix this, I refrigerated for at least 3 hours before rolling out for the first time. I rolled batches of dough (about 1/4 of the dough each time) between two sheets of parchment, then before cutting the circles, I put the rolled out dough (still in parchment) in the freezer for about 3 minutes. This stiffened up the dough enough for me to be able to pick up the pieces easily. I also heated and simmered the jam for until thickened which made it easier to spread on the delicate cookies. I got about 27 2.5" cookies. The cookies were delicious, and my dog agreed - he got to 2/3 of them before we could eat them! I'll definitely be making another batch! The night I made them, I thought they were a little TOO crisp, but after they sat overnight, the jam soaked into the cookies JUST a bit and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I got as far as making the mixture. I put the dough in the refrigerator and basically followed the directions exactly. The dough was soft and sticky. I couldn't roll it at all and used SO MUCH FLOUR. Any suggestions, I really want to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The dough crumbles no matter how cold I keep it. Even after I finally managed to shape some cookies, the cookies tended to crumble after baking. The cookie didn't even really have a good flavor. It was very dry and not very tasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
total disaster. maybe it was me.... but id never attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
The cookie itself is a very light...melt in your mouth cookie. That being said...I could not roll out this dough to save my life. I did refrigerate the dough overnight and when I tried to roll the dough out it just crumbled. So...I took the advice from my reviewer who suggested making a small ball and then pressing it flat on the cookie sheet. Worked for me. Not as pretting looking but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I've been using this recipe for a few years and it is a big hit every time. It is worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcyjill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I was initially concerned making these, primarily because I thought rolling out the dough would be a nightmare. I was determined not to deal with the sticky mess so I split the dough into 4 sections instead of 2 - and tossed in the freezer for 15/20 min. I was more generous with the flour when rolling out (unlike the original recipe suggested) and had absolutely no problem at all. I used a very small/thin spatula to lift the dough and place on baking parchment to completely avoid breakage, worked like a charm. Same with the tops. IF the dough starts to run dry from so much re-rolling (yes, they are alot of work but WELL worth it in the end!) I added a touch of butter, reworked into dough, rewrapped and tossed back in freezer for a few more min. My baking time however was only about 8 min per cookie, I think I really rolled them much thinner than recipe required because I was able to make 50 - yes 50 cookies with this recipe. And yes, they were still 2 1/2 inch cookies. I will try rolling them out thicker next time but they were absolutely PERFECT once I put the jam on and let set overnight. Once the jam absorbs into the cookie it's nice and tender, literaly melts in your mouth. Enjoy everyone, these were definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rottys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States