Linnie's Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
As per other reviewers, I sauteed the rice and garlic in a little butter. I also substituted chicken broth for the water and only added 3/4 of the jar of salsa. Turned out perfect! The whole family loved it!!! I did simmer covered, wasn't sure since it didn't say. I love simple recipes with so few ingredients that taste so flavorful! Will definitely make this again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I was skeptical because it was so simple but it turned out great! I added some black beans and served with chicken enchiladas and my guests said it was the best meal that they have had in a long time. I will definaltely be making this again and again. Quick, Easy and Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Good idea for a quick side dish but I agree with the last reviewer who said this had way to much salsa for 1 cup of rice. I suggest using 1/2 or 3/4 jar of salsa at most for each cup of uncooked rice. I may try again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Each time I've made this recipe (several times), I bless the cook that sent it in! It so easy, delicious, and always moist. My family loves it! I serve it with tacos or Mexican chicken. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Super easy & good! browned the rice like the others suggestion - made with La Victoria's thick & chunky medium salsa. Very tasty. I didn't cover it 'cause it didn't specify. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very bummed...I can never seem to get the right spanish rice recipe. This one seemed so easy and had great reviews, but I wasn't impressed. Way too much salsa; I used homemade which had the same consistency as the Pace brand, but it was too much. Maybe if I had used half or three quarters it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe was tasty and very simple. I used a garlic lime salsa and it had great flavor. I would make sure you use a salsa that has good flavor or your rice will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was awsome! It was easy! And even my one year old gobbled it down like he hadn't eaten in a month! This is definently a keeper that I will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was so simple and so good. I used Uncle Ben's rice in the microwave - no need for water and then added the salsa. I also added some sauteed chopped green pepper and onion along with some chili powder and cumin to give it a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I sauteed the rice and garlic before adding the water and salsa for more flavor. My husband really liked it but I still thought it needed something, possibly lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States