Linnie's Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Thank you!!!!! I made mine in the microwave with the times on the rice package. I used On the Border salsa. I will never make it from a box again! Even better the second day:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Made this as a side to go along with the Chili Verde from AR. I would have been fantastic had I gone to the store and bought some mild or medium salsa but noooooo I had to use that HOT salsa that someone left from a past party! Geez.... burnt the hell out of my tongue!! But the rest of the guest loved the flavor AND heat!!! I know... I'm a wimp! I'll be making this again as it is so quick easy and very nice flavor. Oh, by the way.... only change I made was to add a 1/4 t of cumin. ***UPDATE*** Made this again tonight (July 2012) This time I added a drained can of Bushes Black Beans and about 3/4 of a 13oz Hillshire beef sausage link cut into 1/4" rounds at the start. Brought to a boil and simmered for 20 minutes with the lid off. At the end of the 20 minutes I covered and let set 10 minutes or so. Tasted great! The left overs I folded into burrito wrappers with a slice of American cheese for quick lunches or snacks.... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Living as an Expat in rural China we have lots of rice to eat. My mom sent a care package to us and included a giant jar of salsa. This recipe was the perfect find to "spice up" the usual rice dish. After the ingredients cooked in the traditional rice cooker, I stirred in 2T butter to loosen up the sticky rice. Thanks Linda for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merkel, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This rice was really good. It came out a bit sticky with two cups of water. Some of the rice was also a little underdone. Next time I will add a little more water and cook a few minutes longer. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was yummy and easy. I doubled it and added a little fresh cilantro I had on hand.... I will make this again and stay away from the store bought spanish rice. thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I was afraid, I thought it can't be this easy!!! It was and it was so good!! I added black beans as well from the can for the last ten minutes!! Oh man I bless you too!! This was quick and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I've made this twice now, once as instructed, and once via microwave. Following the instructions exactly was great, but just be aware that this is not a dry spanish rice. It's going to be a wet rice mixture when you're done (which is how I like it). If you don't want it so wet, use less salsa. Regarding the microwave, my typical white rice recipe is to microwave for fifteen minutes covered, and let the rice sit in the microwave (don't open the door) for ten minutes after the timer goes off. Using this timing with the spanish rice recipe left me with rice that was about 95% done. I might have to play with the microwave times a little bit to get it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very easy. A great Mexican side dish. I also used only 3/4 C of salsa and it was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The rice was good, not spectacular, but it's highly dependent on the salsa you use. I'd say the recipe calls for way too much, and I'm convinced I can taste the preservatives in your mainstream type salsa. I will more then likely either make my own, or find a local vendor who makes their own if I do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great side dish recipe for basic Spanish Rice! I used brown rice, (required more liquid to cook), and chicken broth for the water. I would recommend using half a jar of salsa rather than the whole jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States