Linnie's Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I browned the rice and used chicken broth rather than water. This was perfectly acceptable, but for my tastes a little heavy on the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Very good and easy recipe. I think it depends on what kind of salsa you use as to how the rice will turn out. I liked it but would probably tweak it a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used chicken broth instead of water and 1 cup of spagetti sauce (all we had in the house), instead of salsa. Very tasty and fast to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I am the one that submitted the original recipe. I have to tell you that over time I have found an even easier way to do it with the same results. I have added the rice and salsa and the equivilant amount or so of water or broth from the salsa jar (not 2 cups); added it to a rice cooker and hit the "white rice" button. Wha-la! It is the same and so much less fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Linnie, (whoever you are) this recipe is Great! Love it! I tried many other versions of Spanish Rice, but I love this one. It's a keeper in my house! Like some of the other members I added cumin, chili seasoning a little salt, but I didn't have garlic, so I used onions, instead of water i used a can of chicken broth and I didn't need as much salsa. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Push, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I also sauteed the rice and garlic in about a TBSP of butter and only used 1/2 to 3/4 of a jar of medium salsa. Should have added some salt while cooking as it noticeably needed it when eating. Very tasty. My wife thought I spent a lot of time chopping onion, tomatoes, and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was a really good, quick recipe that didn't require many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe, thank you! It smell absolutely delicious when it was simmering. However, I agree with others that halving the amount of salsa is a good idea. I also found my rice a bit dry, so mixing some butter in it before fluffing might be helpful. I also used brown rice to make the recipe a lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Easy and a crowd pleaser! What more could a busy mom ask for!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Pretty good!It made a quick week night side dish. I will defiently make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States