Linguini with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I used this recipe as my basic model for my FIRST try *ever* at Linguine With Clam Sauce. I am a big white sauce fan and I'm gratified to see it used here. As usual, I found a way to add my own "spin" on the recipe BUT, for once, I did NOT use one of my FAVORITE ingredients, Pork Jowl Bacon, because I wanted to make this recipe honestly, to see if I COULD get along WITHOUT the bacon-and I did! I am not afraid of REAL *anything* be it butter, milk, cream etc. If you want full on flavor, full on ingredients are a *must*. But, too, I think I may have discovered an indispensable herb, which is not known for being used in clam sauce. I'm not giving it up here but I did use Dill Weed ( I've always associated Dill Weed with seafood) in my recipe for clam sauce in conjunction with my "mystery herb" and this combination may well be responsible for NOT having to use ANY parmesan cheese as a "helper" at all! When I finished my sauce and had myself a plate, I was surprised that I had not even MISSED the parmesan! I mean, I use parmesan on EVERYTHING Italian- but , because of that mystery herb, I believe I found a "richer way"! Thanks for the great "base recipe"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Easy, but not the same as a white sauce with cream. I didn't like it, but my fiance did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Like other people said, this clam sauce was very creamy. I doubled the garlic and added a half cup of parsley. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Was a great start, but I found it extremely bland! will warm up fresh cut herbs in the olive oil before everything else to infuse some flavor next time. I want this recipes to work so bad, because the technique is absolutely flawless! it came out looking and smelling restaurant quality, just lacked flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was too creamy and not what I am used to. We didn't eat everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I have made this recipe for my family (of semi picky kids) and it is an alltime favorite! The only thing I change is adding more clams....just cant get enough. By far one of my faves here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burnin' biscuits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Went great with a Caesar Salad! Family loved it and said we "should have it again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
6-26-11: I did a few things wrong on this one, but Ann still liked it. Try it again, doing it as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I have a similar recipe, but only use 1/2 the pasta and no milk. Also added black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuklaak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a great dish. I prepared this as written and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States