Linguini with Broccoli and Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Great dish! I made it lowfat by omitting the butter and using less oil. I would also recommend either doubling the veggies, or cutting the pasta amount in half. The second time I made this, I added 1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion to the peppers, and it made a difference in the flavor! Timesaver tip: add the broccoli to the boiling pasta for 3-4 minutes, then scoop out and add to the red peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Read through a lot of the reviews and suggestions and also made a few modifications and it was excellent: No butter, only olive oil, for sauteeing. One red bell pepper, one green bell pepper, three diced fresh tomatoes, ten oil cured black olives (when we couldn't find any anchovies), and three heaping soup spoons of diced fresh garlic from the Sams Club jumbo container. Also a teaspoon and a half of salt Strongly considered adding some red pepper flakes or salsa, but were afraid to push the envelope too much... Instead of linguini, we used penne pasta, and it turned out as good as any Whole Foods pasta salad, delicious warm and room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I'm sorry but this was BORING! Others have stated to increase the oil/butter to equally spread over the lb of noodles, which is what I did but I would think that 1/2 cup of chicken broth or white wine would have been a much better option. It wasn't that it tasted bad but basically, this meal was just butter, oil, noodles and broccoli. I think it put my tatse buds to sleep. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was very tasty and easy to prepare! I added some roma tomatoes to the saute of garlic, broccoli & peppers. It was a hit with my family and my best friend! I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Very tasty! I found that a whole pound of Linguini was too much for the sauce/vegetables. I recommend only cooking half the box (1/2 pound) or else doubling the rest. I used half and it came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I've made this dish about 5 times already and just love it! I've discovered though that i like to add more veggies than called for, and extra parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Simple, uncomplicated, but delicious. I skipped the garlic salt (seemed redundant considering you've already including fresh garlic) and as for the cooking method, the step of steaming the broccoli is not necessary - I simply sauteed it along with the red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I really enjoyed this dish. It makes for a very nice light supper with a green salad. It is a little dry, but I just added an extra tablespoon of olive oil. The flavors of the vegetables really come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
1/2 the pasta, flourettes of the broccoli, no stem, double the red pepper, 1/4 cup cheese before grating, double the garlic, 4 slices bacon, crisp, crunbled, add a drizzle of olive oil, and some dipping spices. Toss. Wife wants it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Loved it, my daughter & I ate most of it ourselves. It figures that on the day I go to get red peppers ...they have none. I used 1 yellow & 1 orange pepper, it looked wonderful! I did use double olive oil, YUM! Some may not consider this a "meal" but worked great as a nice, light side dish, I'll also put it in my lunch rotation. Thanks Chris!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States