Linguini with Broccoli and Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Simple, uncomplicated, but delicious. I skipped the garlic salt (seemed redundant considering you've already including fresh garlic) and as for the cooking method, the step of steaming the broccoli is not necessary - I simply sauteed it along with the red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
First, I have to say that I did change the recipe up quite a bit, but it was a GREAT base recipe to make your own. I ended up adding fresh mushrooms, an onion sliced up, and vegetarian chicken to it. I used spaghetti noodles, a little more butter and olive oil (probably because I had more "stuff" in it, and doubled the amount of garlic. My pan is not big enough to saute all the veggies at once, so I sauteed the garlic, onion, red pepper, and mushrooms together in the 3 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp butter till they were mostly cooked but still a little crispy, then used a slotted spoon and moved them into the pot of already cooked and drained pasta. Then to the liquid that was left I added the steamed broccoli and Morning Star chicken and heated through. Added that to the pasta with a little more olive oil and butter and mixed well. My hubby didn't even know it was Morning Star Chicken and not the real thing, and it was so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The flavors in this dish are great together. I blanched the broccoli in the microwave for about half as much time as the recipe suggests so it wouldn't be limp and overdone after sauteeing. One could also simply add it to the pasta pot for the last few minutes of cooking. I used a Romano + parmesan cheese blend for the cheese for more flavor than parmesan alone. Next time I'll change the proportions to more veggies, less pasta, as a good way to get more vegetables into my diet. PS I just noticed that a reviewer didn't like it, but didn't use any red pepper. Well, duh, that's about 1/3 of the dish ingredients, people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was good! I have to agree with others to add something-tomatoes, broth, wine-to make it saucier and add flavor. I added about 1/2 a can of petite diced tomatoes to the veggies and it was perfect. If you like spice, add red pepper flakes. It was a great dinner! Plus quick and easy too-will def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
it was very good but needs a liitle more if you know what i mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I usually just look for recipes to use as a guideline, and this one looked pretty good. I used regular thin spaghetti instead of linguini and used half of a green pepper, half of a red pepper and half of a yellow pepper along with the broccoli to give it more color. I used some italian seasonings while sauteeing the peppers and added a bit of parm cheese to the mix. I didnt see anything about tossing the pasta with oil, so i did that separately and then combined it with the veggies. It was really delicious. My SO and kids (3 years old and 10.5months) all devoured it! I will be making a rendition of this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good dish! I have made this many times with whole grain spaghetti (for a little bit of a healthier version). I have served this with grilled chicken and also with salmon mixed in and it was wonderful! I have also added other veggies like zucchini....Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was delicious! Even my kids ate it! I did add 1/2 cup of milk, as it seemed a bit dry. Next time, I'll try adding it to the skillet before I mix with the linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good. It did need alittle more flavor. So I added some salt and basil olive oil. It was great! Also I have a spice called slap your mama...that kicked it up a bit too. It's just a combo of salt, garlic powder and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Amazing. So simple yet so flavorful and delicious. My three kids husband and I all loved it. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States