Linguine with Seafood and Sundried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Out of this world! A good friend is a chef, so I was nervous about cooking for him and his wife. He RAVED and offered me a job in his restaurant! Even my husband, who isn't wild about pasta, couldn't get enough. Like some other reviewers, I reduced the butter and used the oil from the oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes and the result was great. I also used 6 oz. clam juice and 4 oz. white wine then reduced before adding 1/4 c. cream. Finished with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and served with a simple mixed green salad and lots of crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
One cup of fat is completely out of control, so I reduced it to 4T altogether (half butter, half oil) and it still tasted great! I also thickened the sauce a bit with cornstarch and doubled both the sun-dried tomatoes and the parsley. I found that the best way to chop sun-dried tomatoes is with a strong pair kitchen scissors. Then soak them in boiling water for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I should start out by saying that it's not often that I rate a recipe 5 stars, but I would give this recipe 6 if I could! I did modify it a little bit though. First, I scaled the recipe to two servings; I reduced the olive oil to 2 generous Tbsp and used the correct amount of butter; I added a large(ish) shallot along with 3 cloves of garlic. Once this was softened in the oil, I added the clam juice and the shrimp and scallops and cooked them *almost* through. I removed the seafood and reduced the remaining liquid by half (the seafood gave off quite a bit of liquid). Then I added about 1/4 cup of 10% cream; added the seafood back to the pan along with the rest of the ingredients (I used about 1/3 cup chopped, dried sundried tomatoes which I'd rehydrated in some water) and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I poured this over the pasta and added a grating of fresh parmesan cheese. The end result was absolutely delicious! It would also be a good dish to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Oh my. I would give this ten stars if it were a choice. This was just sublime. I made it as described with the addition of 1/4 c half and half to give the sauce a little more body. It was scrumptious! My husband stopped mid-first bite, looked up at me, chewed, swallowed, and said reverently, "This is the BEST thing you have ever made." We all (including 2 year old daughter and 4 year old son) thought it was wonderful. Next time I will add a few more sundried tomatoes, but other than that, it is perfect, truly one of the best I've ever tried. Thank you so much for sharing this easy but company-quality dinner dish. Garlic bread for sopping up the sauce is a MUST! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
What gives you the right to low-ball a recipe that you haven't even tried. Personally, I found this dish to be absolutely outstanding - Yes, it is very rich . . . but the key word is 'Moderation'. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
YUM!! Thanks! I decided that both butter and olive oil was too much for me, so I only used butter this time around (I figured that I'd try the fattening version first to see if I like it, and then make it healthy later). Also, I used about 3X the amount of tomatoes and a few sprigs of lemon thyme while sauteing. It was great! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent dish! I scaled this down just for the 2 of us and had to swap out the scallops for some lobster chunks, but I think any combo of seafood would be fabulous. I used 2 cloves of garlic and many more sun-dried tomatoes, also added a splash each of white wine and 2% evaporated milk along with the clam juice (had the milk to use up and love the white wine for the flavour with seafood). Will make again for sure, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Like this recipe a lot; if you have a Trader Joe's in your area, I used their Frozen Seafood Mix (shrimp, calamari, scallops)instead of just shrimp and scallops (because I love calamari!)and served it over TJ's garlic & basil linguine. Served it with a salad for guests and it was gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Excellent. I used sea scallops instead (the bigger ones) and added a little white wine and lemon juice to the seafood. Served it over angel hair pasta and sprinkled with some parmesean cheese. My husband and I cleaned our plates. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
It was very tasty. I did it with seafood blend brought from TJ's and basil and garlic linguine. I put 3 tablespoons of butter, and no olive oil, than added garlic. Later I added seafood blend and sun dried tomatoes, waited for 5 minutes and poured some half and half in it. I had to use corn starch to make the sauce thicker. In the end I poured shrimp with sauce over linguine and squeezed some lemon juice on it. It is very fast to make, it took me only 15 minutes, so I will be using this recipe again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States