Linguine with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was fantastic. As a previous reviewer suggested, I doubled the sauce ingredients (except the herbs). I doubled the garlic (I'm a garlic fan) and sauteed it in 2 teaspoons olive oil. I lightly seasoned the mushroom caps with salt/pepper before broiling. Lastly I added 1/4 freshly grated Romano cheese right before serving. Next time I'll probably use six mushroom caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This was very good and a healthy change from heavy pasta sauces. Also, very quick to put together for a last minute meal. Thanks, Maryanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
The flavor for this recipe was great! However I did not have enough liquid for the sauce. But I just added a little more parmesan cheese and ate it anyway. If I had to do over, I would double the ingredients for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
The flavors of this dish were simple and fresh. I made some changes though as some of the other reviews recommended. I used whole wheat linguini, 6 mushroom caps, 4 garlic cloves, 1/4 c. basil and 4T of olive oil. I also grated fresh parmesan cheese over each serving. Yum! I made this three times in two weeks - easy to make and reheats excellent in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRIZZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I'm not sure how the 'sauce' as written could possibly serve 8 - increase the liquid and herbs for sure if you intend to serve that many!(that's why I gave it 3 stars). I just made 2 servings and kept all the measurements as written (except the EVOO - cut that in half to save fat) and next time I will probably use a bit more. So the sauce as written is more likely to serve 2. I also used dried herbs, and I will try fresh next time, because I think it will be better. Used Balsamic vinegar because I like the taste better. Topped with parm. Don't forget the salt and pepper either - it needs it. Overall, not bad and I will keep playing with it until it suits my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As is the recipe needs help. There is not enough liquid as many people have already stated. I doubled the liquid, tripled the garlic, and added parmesan (also like many others). As a base it is decent, but the recipe needs significant tweaking to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErichKD
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I changed recipes quantity for 2, there was enough sauce to go, instead of broiling I used a frying pan, and added the souce at the end, It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was pretty good, very healthy. I'd likely add more of the mushrooms next time, or even a little braise beef of some sort. Served it as a meal with a dinner salad and everyone did get their fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
The sauce for this recipe was delicious! I doubled it, but still, the pasta was a little bit dry, as the sauce didn't go far enough. Next time I might try serving it over orzo, or some smaller pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was not good. There was no sauce at all. It really just tasted like plain pasta with some cut up mushroom on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States