Linguine with Mushrooms & Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I had to make quite a few modifications to accomodate what I hand on hand, but this turned out pretty well. I used spaghetti instead of linguine, canned mushrooms instead of fresh, and 2 cups of low-fat milk in place of the whipping cream. I thickened the sauce with corn starch, which worked just fine. I also used dried basil and used quite a bit of black pepper in the sauce. Tasty and very fast to get on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
My family really enjoyed this. An interesting variation is to add a cup of green peas; I also have added a quarter-cup of grated dry cheese (parmesan, romano, dry jack) to the sauce or on top. I recommend 1T butter and 1T olive oil for sauteeing the onion, garlic and shrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Very good. I did add 1 cup peas and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese as previously suggested. It was a little dry. So next time I would increase the whipping cream to 2 cups and/or decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We loved this recipe. Not as heavy as alfredo sauce, but has great garlic and mushroom flavor. I even found the recipe "Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce" on allrecipe.com which had the same base recipe as this sauce - and we ended up trying 2 sauces for one meal. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
this is one of the best recipe for me. i have tried with rosemary instead of the basil and it was great. i also added one cube vegetable stock instead of the salt and God it added a flavor. parmesan cheese with it is lovely as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is so good, I will make this again soon. I added parm cheese to the sause and that thicken it up perfectly. I used a little minced onion its what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My kids all liked this which was a miricle. I made this lower fat by substituing skim milk for the whipping cream. I thickened the sauce with 2 tsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Not bad....I think it could use some more "spicing" up, but overall, pretty good. I used the whole carton of whipping cream (2 cups) instead of what the recipe called for and I think that was just enough. The dish wasn't dry at all (as previously posted by another reviewer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Does need extra seasoning!! Regular milk + cornstarch worked fine to replace the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Great for all those ham left overs! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States