Linguine with Mushrooms & Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We loved this recipe. Not as heavy as alfredo sauce, but has great garlic and mushroom flavor. I even found the recipe "Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce" on allrecipe.com which had the same base recipe as this sauce - and we ended up trying 2 sauces for one meal. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
My family really enjoyed this. An interesting variation is to add a cup of green peas; I also have added a quarter-cup of grated dry cheese (parmesan, romano, dry jack) to the sauce or on top. I recommend 1T butter and 1T olive oil for sauteeing the onion, garlic and shrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Very good. I did add 1 cup peas and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese as previously suggested. It was a little dry. So next time I would increase the whipping cream to 2 cups and/or decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Not bad....I think it could use some more "spicing" up, but overall, pretty good. I used the whole carton of whipping cream (2 cups) instead of what the recipe called for and I think that was just enough. The dish wasn't dry at all (as previously posted by another reviewer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very good recipe, like this much better than linguine with alfredo sauce. I used fresh mushrooms and added extra. Made some crusty french bread, a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
My fiance and I were big fans of this one. Its really easy to make, and tastes great, too. When he came home and saw the recipe on the computer screen he laughed and asked if I ever reviewed the recipes I tried. After he tasted it he told me, "Yeah, I'd eat this again. I give it a four." (Obviously, I agreed.) I used leftover spiral cut ham and it gave it a really nice flavor. It did seem like it took forever for the sauce to thicken but that was probably just my impatience talking. That and maybe because I used light cream instead to cut down on the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. As others suggested, I added 1 cup of peas, 2 cups of whipping cream. Additionally, I added 1/2 cup of sherry. I will fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
this is one of the best recipe for me. i have tried with rosemary instead of the basil and it was great. i also added one cube vegetable stock instead of the salt and God it added a flavor. parmesan cheese with it is lovely as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This recipe is quick and easy - and tasty. I used skim milk for part of the cream to lower the fat and turkey bacon for the ham, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I don't think I'll try this recipe again without changing the sauce somewhat. I felt like the sauce was missing something, but I'm not sure what. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States