Linguine with Fresh Sage-Caper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I had lots of garden herbs to use up so used a mixture of basil, oregano, chives, parsley and sage. With pipette pasta, it made a great side dish with grilled london broil and a grilled vegetable salad. My husband said it was the best pasta he has had in ages, and said that if we had gotten this at a restaurant, we would go back just for that pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was pretty good, my husband liked it. I will make it again. I used penne pasta instead of linguine, its what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very nice pasta dish. I think maybe I'll add more thyme and sage next time--I'm not really tasting it as much as I'd like. I used fresh tomatoes since they were starting to look sad, and I add red and orange bell peppers for the same reason. Bc I added more ingredients, I upped the capers--shouldve done the same with the sage. Perhaps bc I used raw tomatoes, I added about half a can of V8 juice; the liquid really cooked down quickly and since I wanted to cook as directed, I added tomato juice, which kept it moist. I didn't find this to be too salty from the capers and tomato juice; I thought it was just right. I almost never add salt and pepper in recipes unless it is added in the beginning; I prefer to let pple decide at the table if it needs more salt. I'm glad I left it out this time. I don't have linguine, or even spaghetti, so I used mini penne and felt it worked well. Although I did add veggies to this, I think this makes more like four servings; that's okay, I can have for lunches at work this week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I hadn't worked with capers much, but was needing a recipe to try with it. I also have a TON of sage this year so I went for it. I thought it came out fairly well. I marinated some chicken to serve with it, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was good, flavorful, and very easy. I used fresh tomatoes and a mix of whole-wheat and regular penne. I topped each serving with Romano cheese and red pepper flakes, which complemented the sauce wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Tasty recipe. I did add: 1/2 chicken breast that I had precooked & cubed and 8-10 sliced cremini mushrooms. When I tasted the sauce prior to adding the above ingredients, I thought the sauce tasted great alone, not too salty even with the 2 tbsp capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Great recipe. Would use considerably less capers though, as the dish turned out quite salty despite the fact that i didn't use any salt at all. And this is coming from a person who likes her food salty. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had to quadruple the amount of pasta. And we used corkscrew pasta instead of Linguine. We are a large family... but I have to say it was a very nice change to white sauces. I used butter to saute instead of olive oil. We grow most of our foods so I used some diced tomatoes we canned last fall. Turned out great. I recommend it. Would be great for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good, I did cut back on the sage and bay leaf only because that is my families preference. I also added some blackened chicken to the top when served. Turned out very good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States